Best Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
This was very good. I used ham off the bone instead of deli ham which is in each of the pictures. I took a frozen ham bone that had a lot of meat on it and tossed it in the slow cooker for a few hours without additional liquid to defrost it and soften the meat. I used shredded extra sharp cheddar because that's what I had. It tasted so good I added the other half of the package. I used a vidalia onion rather than dried because, well, as long as you've got it, why not use fresh? And I used pickle juice rather than white wine vinegar because I was getting ready to throw out the jar. If I hadn't used pickle juice, I'd probably chop up a couple of pickles to toss in there too. Tastes...just like a ham and cheese sandwich. A good one at that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Very good. I wanted a little bolder flavor so I made a couple changes. I used a box and a half of noodles, *eliminated the ham,(we were having chicken for dinner) *substituted sesame oil for olive oil, 1/2c. *added a 3 stocks of celery, *used one med. onion instead of flakes, *and halved the vinegar. 1/4c. I made all the veggies at one time in the food processor (slice cucumbers, and celery then grated onion) then put in big bowl with the noodles. Then mixed rest of ingredients in another run through the processor (blades this time) and then in the bowl. *Mix well in big bowl and it was awesome. If you are not a fan of sesame then this is not the changes you want to make.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn Lofgren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This was my first time ever making macaroni salad. I did exactly as written but added some Old Bay Seasoning like another viewer. (didn't have onion on hand either) It turned out pretty good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gurley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lodgepole, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This macoroni salad is to die for! It was a huge it at a recent bbq I hosted. I give it a 4 out 5 only because it does seem to dry out a good bit, however the flavor remains delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
by far the best macaroni salad. not too many ingredients and very flavorful. get rave reviews whenever I take to gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I didn't care for this at all. Normally I love macaroni salad, but this wasn't a winner for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I was expecting more flavor given the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Sorry, but I have to agree with those who have said this was bland, and also dry. The only thing I changed was that I grew up with Miracle Whip being "mayo," but that actually should have given it more of a kick and did not. Once it was chilled, all I tasted was a vague vinegar taste and nothing else, except the ham when it happened to be in that bite. Interesting that someone said the cucumber 'makes it' when I couldn't even taste them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
It was delicious! I used a can of corn instead of cucumbers and it's much sweeter and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This is one of the best macaroni salads I have ever tasted. I did though cut half the amount of vinegar in it and it turned out delicious. Loved the cucumbers in it!! Will be using this recipe for my salad from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States