Best Mac 'N Cheese Ever! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This was delicious. I made it w/o the evaporated milk b/c I forgot it b/c it wasn't listed in the directions, only in the list of ingredients, but it was still wonderful. I had nothing left at the end of the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mario G.
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
A very good Mac & Cheese. I may cut back the eggs to one or two next time and add a little more milk to keep it less firm and more saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mario G.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Step 3 does not mention about adding the evaporated milk so don't forget to add it. I made this for a Christmas Eve party and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I thought it was a good recipe but VERY peppery. I would suggest doing 1 teaspoon of pepper (or less), not two. If your not a salt person either, cut the salt in half too. Otherwise, it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Norby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
You can really tweak the ingredients and still come out with great results. I didn't have 16 oz. of sour cream, but I did have 8 oz. of greek yogurt. I hate only using 1 cup of evaporated milk, especially when it comes in a 12 oz. can, so I used the whole can. I used whatever cheese I had on hand, which wasn't enough but used Velveta processed cheese to get up to the 4-cup cheese requirement. I only used 1 tsp. of white pepper and 1 tsp. of garlic salt (instead of seasoning salt--whatever that is) for seasoning. I still drizzled the butter on top before baking, but next time around I think I'll add it to the milk/cheese mixture just to save a step. The texture was still firm and allowed perfect service slicing. But somehow the creaminess of the cheese still came through. The crusted macaroni around the edges really added a pleasant texture! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I wouldnt say it was the best mac n cheese but it was ok. Mine was a little dry for me i was hoping it was gonna be more creamy ill play around with the recipe maybe add more milk and less eggs. Also it was a little bland for me needs wayyyy more seasoning!! I did crumble bacon on the top that was the best part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I used 4 tbs butter and some flour and made a roux, then added the evap milk to make a white sauce. Then I melted the processed cheese in this, added the eggs and sour cream that I had wisked together, then added the cheese and cooked mac. I also added chopped ham bits, the rest of the seasoning and threw it in the oven. I think it turned out awesome!! It turns out the season salt is KEY to the great taste, it takes the edge off the sour cream flavor. I also just used random cheese that needed to be used in addition that it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This is a good Mac n Cheese but I still prefer a different recipe. I was thinking this would be less expensive (and it was).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caren Teigen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Wasn't bad, but definitely not best ever. I had a lot of left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sage

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southampton, New York, USA
Living In: Shirley, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
the first time i made this dish i fallowed to the T, and it turned out a bit dry. But my second time around i added more cheese and a small amount of heavy cream and bacon and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States