Best Mac 'N Cheese Ever! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by KristenJ
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I've made this recipe twice and both times my man and I really enjoyed it. Plus it's easy. The first time I added some real bacon pieces (I think I used a whole package). The bacon was a good addition. The second time, I cut the recipe in half (the whole was too much for just the two of us) and used a 6cup baking dish which worked well. Also, I used cut-up pepper jack cheese instead of the shredded cheddar/jack cheese blend which made the recipe even better! For anyone who likes a little kick, I definitely recommend using pepper jack!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I gave this 4 stars because it does need to be tweeked slightly. I only use 2 eggs and omit the velveeta cheese on top. It's so cheesey as it is! This is our fav mac n cheese in my house now and I add things to it sometimes. The best is 1/2 lb of turkey bacon, cubed and microwaved then added to the mix before baking. I also like to add broccoli florets too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
the first time i made this dish i fallowed to the T, and it turned out a bit dry. But my second time around i added more cheese and a small amount of heavy cream and bacon and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Wasn't bad, but definitely not best ever. I had a lot of left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sage

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southampton, New York, USA
Living In: Shirley, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This is a good Mac n Cheese but I still prefer a different recipe. I was thinking this would be less expensive (and it was).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I used 4 tbs butter and some flour and made a roux, then added the evap milk to make a white sauce. Then I melted the processed cheese in this, added the eggs and sour cream that I had wisked together, then added the cheese and cooked mac. I also added chopped ham bits, the rest of the seasoning and threw it in the oven. I think it turned out awesome!! It turns out the season salt is KEY to the great taste, it takes the edge off the sour cream flavor. I also just used random cheese that needed to be used in addition that it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I wouldnt say it was the best mac n cheese but it was ok. Mine was a little dry for me i was hoping it was gonna be more creamy ill play around with the recipe maybe add more milk and less eggs. Also it was a little bland for me needs wayyyy more seasoning!! I did crumble bacon on the top that was the best part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
You can really tweak the ingredients and still come out with great results. I didn't have 16 oz. of sour cream, but I did have 8 oz. of greek yogurt. I hate only using 1 cup of evaporated milk, especially when it comes in a 12 oz. can, so I used the whole can. I used whatever cheese I had on hand, which wasn't enough but used Velveta processed cheese to get up to the 4-cup cheese requirement. I only used 1 tsp. of white pepper and 1 tsp. of garlic salt (instead of seasoning salt--whatever that is) for seasoning. I still drizzled the butter on top before baking, but next time around I think I'll add it to the milk/cheese mixture just to save a step. The texture was still firm and allowed perfect service slicing. But somehow the creaminess of the cheese still came through. The crusted macaroni around the edges really added a pleasant texture! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I thought it was a good recipe but VERY peppery. I would suggest doing 1 teaspoon of pepper (or less), not two. If your not a salt person either, cut the salt in half too. Otherwise, it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Step 3 does not mention about adding the evaporated milk so don't forget to add it. I made this for a Christmas Eve party and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States