Best Mac 'N Cheese Ever! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I know it is never done but my mother always put diced onion in mac and cheese and I do too. Gives it such a sweet, cheesy taste. Everyone always comments about the onions and how good it is. Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KristenJ
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I've made this recipe twice and both times my man and I really enjoyed it. Plus it's easy. The first time I added some real bacon pieces (I think I used a whole package). The bacon was a good addition. The second time, I cut the recipe in half (the whole was too much for just the two of us) and used a 6cup baking dish which worked well. Also, I used cut-up pepper jack cheese instead of the shredded cheddar/jack cheese blend which made the recipe even better! For anyone who likes a little kick, I definitely recommend using pepper jack!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I gave this 4 stars because it does need to be tweeked slightly. I only use 2 eggs and omit the velveeta cheese on top. It's so cheesey as it is! This is our fav mac n cheese in my house now and I add things to it sometimes. The best is 1/2 lb of turkey bacon, cubed and microwaved then added to the mix before baking. I also like to add broccoli florets too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
the first time i made this dish i fallowed to the T, and it turned out a bit dry. But my second time around i added more cheese and a small amount of heavy cream and bacon and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Wasn't bad, but definitely not best ever. I had a lot of left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sage

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southampton, New York, USA
Living In: Shirley, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This is a good Mac n Cheese but I still prefer a different recipe. I was thinking this would be less expensive (and it was).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I used 4 tbs butter and some flour and made a roux, then added the evap milk to make a white sauce. Then I melted the processed cheese in this, added the eggs and sour cream that I had wisked together, then added the cheese and cooked mac. I also added chopped ham bits, the rest of the seasoning and threw it in the oven. I think it turned out awesome!! It turns out the season salt is KEY to the great taste, it takes the edge off the sour cream flavor. I also just used random cheese that needed to be used in addition that it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I wouldnt say it was the best mac n cheese but it was ok. Mine was a little dry for me i was hoping it was gonna be more creamy ill play around with the recipe maybe add more milk and less eggs. Also it was a little bland for me needs wayyyy more seasoning!! I did crumble bacon on the top that was the best part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
You can really tweak the ingredients and still come out with great results. I didn't have 16 oz. of sour cream, but I did have 8 oz. of greek yogurt. I hate only using 1 cup of evaporated milk, especially when it comes in a 12 oz. can, so I used the whole can. I used whatever cheese I had on hand, which wasn't enough but used Velveta processed cheese to get up to the 4-cup cheese requirement. I only used 1 tsp. of white pepper and 1 tsp. of garlic salt (instead of seasoning salt--whatever that is) for seasoning. I still drizzled the butter on top before baking, but next time around I think I'll add it to the milk/cheese mixture just to save a step. The texture was still firm and allowed perfect service slicing. But somehow the creaminess of the cheese still came through. The crusted macaroni around the edges really added a pleasant texture! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I thought it was a good recipe but VERY peppery. I would suggest doing 1 teaspoon of pepper (or less), not two. If your not a salt person either, cut the salt in half too. Otherwise, it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States