Best London Broil Ever! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Bought a piece of London Broil for the first time and found this recipe. Tried it and loved it. As others have said, it was moist and very tender. I've always heard London Broil is tough, but with this recipe...no way! I put a rub of cinnamon, ground pepper and salt onto the meat, placed in an oblong pyrex dish, & topped with a can of Basil & Oregano flavored Diced Tomatoes. Covered with heavy foil and put in the oven at 300 for 3 hours. It came out looking like the 2nd photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I followed the recipe as written and the roast was done in one hour and it was hard as a brick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
My son and I absolutely loved this. My husband liked it but thought it had too much of a tomato taste. I cooked in a crock pot and used a 15 oz can of diced tomatoes seasoned with basil, garlic and oregano. I served it with pasta which we thought worked really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This was by far not the best London Broil ever. In fact, it's not a LB at all, nor does it taste like one. It turned out dry and bland, and tasted exactly like a beef pot roast. Mediocre at best. I cooked it on 325 instead of 350. The recipe also calls for baking 2 1/2 to 3 hours, so I made the mistake of waiting to check it until 2 hours and 10 minutes. It was already way overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christierella

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
This dish lacked flavor and the meat was super tough. I think it might have been better in slow cooker on low for 10+ hours as I've done with other london broil cuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This was by far the best london broil I ever made. I used 1 can of beef broth and other spices to our liking. I marinaded it in a ziplock bag in the fridge for 2hrs. I also added fresh mushrooms to the bag and chopped garlic. I roasted it, covered w/tin foil tight, in the oven, at 350 for 2 1/2 hours.I would occasionaly stir the liquid to make sure the meat was covered. After 1 1/2hrs, I added 6 med red potatoes to the liquid. The last 45mins I covered it with stewed tomatoes. My husband said it was the best he ever had. Make sure the liquid covers the meat, that is the secret to its tenderness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Tender and juicy as it gets. I set the oven at 325 and kept it in for 2 hours. Some people said it came out dry, but I kept if covered the whole time and it came out great. Added some onions this time, but I plan on experimenting with different spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This was real easy and very delicious. I seasoned the meat before adding the tomatoes. I didn't have stewed so I used diced that we seasoned with garlic, green chilies, oregano, etc. Then I added minced garlic. I covered it and cooked for 2 1/2 on 325. It was a little over cooked but super delicious and tender. Next time (because I will be making again) I will cook it for 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARBEAR613

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I do not like tomato taste, but I use tomatoes in many recipes and love the end result. This recipe absolutely makes tender meat, but I cooked it 10 minutes longer, and it was very, very dry. It will make good sandwiches, but I just didn't like it as much as I anticipated. I did soak it overnight in the tomatoes, and this could have cause it to be dry, but it was very dry. Great sandwich meat. Marginal dinner meat. I doubt I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Best Hamburger Ever

See how to make juicy grilled burgers loaded with good stuff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States