Best Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
I used Italian Sausage (Jimmy Dean's) in place of beef- which was INCREDIBLE, cottage cheese in place of ricotta and parmesan in place of romano. I also used 2 jars of spaghetti sauce and 1/2 cups (1 package shredded all together) extra mozzerella. Also added a couple cloves of minced garlic. Can't leave that out!! It was the absolutely the best lasagna ever! I also used the no-cook lasagna noodles and just put them in the dish dry, it worked great- and saved a lot of time and mess. I highly recommend these changes to anyone. I will be making it again and again. My boyfriend was ecstatic as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
A really good recipe for lasagna. Very easy to make. I used the suggestion of sausage instead of hamburger meat. That worked very well, but I am going to try the hamburger next time for the texture. Definitely needed A LOT more pasta sauce. If you are going to try this, triple what the original recipe calls for in this regard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
Fantastic. I used the suggestions of all the reviewers to make sure that this turned out well. First, I added a few cloves of minced garlic to the meat. I also kept the ricotta/romano mixture (to which I added a beaten egg and a package of frozen spinach) separate from the meat/sauce mixture. For the sauce I used my favorite garden vegetable chunky spaghetti sauce. This made for a lasagna that my boyfriend claims is my best yet! By the way, half a package of lasagna noodles would have been sufficient. I ended up throwing away half of the pound. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I made this last night for dinner with friends and they loved it! I read the reviews and made some changes. I used no boil noodles and used a total of 12 (4 layers of 3 across). I added a tablespoon of garlic to the meat mixture because I love garlic and left out the salt and pepper (it didn't need it). I used 2 cups of ricotta and 2 cups of cottage cheese. I also used a Romano/Parmesan mixture. I used more sauce than the recipe called for - almost 2 jars. I also added a box of frozen spinach to the cheese mixture and did not mix the meat sauce with it, layering it instead. I only used 1 zucchini and that seemed to be plenty. The basil leaves added a wonderful flavor. I love meat lasagna and veggie lasnaga - this was the best of both worlds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Is the amount of ricotta cheese a misprint? This was my first time making lasagna and I picked this recipe because I like chesse. But the ricotta was waaaay too overpowering for my homemade spaghetti sauce and the dish turned out to be really disgusting. If I was to try to make this recipe again I would use half as much ricotta. Yuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I am only giving this 4 stars because I took the advice of a fellow rater and decreased the ricotta by half. It turned out great! And I did also use more spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
with tweaks mentioned below - this was INCREDIBLE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
It was fair sounding! First, I eliminated the zucchini & substituted morel mushrooms,then I ommitted the ground beef & added real Italian sausage (not Jimmy Dean).Lastly I always spread a scim of my prepared Italian sauce on the bottom of my pan ,insuring both moisture & taste from top to bottom! These ...kicked it up a notch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Not bad! However, when I made it (following the recipe) it tasted like it was missing something. It needed a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aquarian_Mommax2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
This is not the best lasagna. My family thought it needed more sauce and the taste was sort of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States