Best Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
I used Italian Sausage (Jimmy Dean's) in place of beef- which was INCREDIBLE, cottage cheese in place of ricotta and parmesan in place of romano. I also used 2 jars of spaghetti sauce and 1/2 cups (1 package shredded all together) extra mozzerella. Also added a couple cloves of minced garlic. Can't leave that out!! It was the absolutely the best lasagna ever! I also used the no-cook lasagna noodles and just put them in the dish dry, it worked great- and saved a lot of time and mess. I highly recommend these changes to anyone. I will be making it again and again. My boyfriend was ecstatic as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
A really good recipe for lasagna. Very easy to make. I used the suggestion of sausage instead of hamburger meat. That worked very well, but I am going to try the hamburger next time for the texture. Definitely needed A LOT more pasta sauce. If you are going to try this, triple what the original recipe calls for in this regard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
Fantastic. I used the suggestions of all the reviewers to make sure that this turned out well. First, I added a few cloves of minced garlic to the meat. I also kept the ricotta/romano mixture (to which I added a beaten egg and a package of frozen spinach) separate from the meat/sauce mixture. For the sauce I used my favorite garden vegetable chunky spaghetti sauce. This made for a lasagna that my boyfriend claims is my best yet! By the way, half a package of lasagna noodles would have been sufficient. I ended up throwing away half of the pound. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I made this last night for dinner with friends and they loved it! I read the reviews and made some changes. I used no boil noodles and used a total of 12 (4 layers of 3 across). I added a tablespoon of garlic to the meat mixture because I love garlic and left out the salt and pepper (it didn't need it). I used 2 cups of ricotta and 2 cups of cottage cheese. I also used a Romano/Parmesan mixture. I used more sauce than the recipe called for - almost 2 jars. I also added a box of frozen spinach to the cheese mixture and did not mix the meat sauce with it, layering it instead. I only used 1 zucchini and that seemed to be plenty. The basil leaves added a wonderful flavor. I love meat lasagna and veggie lasnaga - this was the best of both worlds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Is the amount of ricotta cheese a misprint? This was my first time making lasagna and I picked this recipe because I like chesse. But the ricotta was waaaay too overpowering for my homemade spaghetti sauce and the dish turned out to be really disgusting. If I was to try to make this recipe again I would use half as much ricotta. Yuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I am only giving this 4 stars because I took the advice of a fellow rater and decreased the ricotta by half. It turned out great! And I did also use more spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
with tweaks mentioned below - this was INCREDIBLE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
It was fair sounding! First, I eliminated the zucchini & substituted morel mushrooms,then I ommitted the ground beef & added real Italian sausage (not Jimmy Dean).Lastly I always spread a scim of my prepared Italian sauce on the bottom of my pan ,insuring both moisture & taste from top to bottom! These ...kicked it up a notch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Not bad! However, when I made it (following the recipe) it tasted like it was missing something. It needed a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aquarian_Mommax2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
This is not the best lasagna. My family thought it needed more sauce and the taste was sort of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States