Best Korean Bulgogi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
This was ok. My husband is Korean and he was not pleased withthis one at all. Of course he is a little biased saying his mom's bulgogi couldn't be beat! Don't know if we'll be having this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
I tried this recipe to surprise my Korean parents. My mom was shocked at how salty the marinade came out. She asked, "are you sure it wasn't 2 1/2 TABLESPOONS of soy sauce?" She also said one whole can of beer was way too much. I think next time I'll go with my parents' recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
I'll second the "salty" comment. It tasted good, but was very salty from the soy sauce. Using 1/8 th the Soy might help...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I didn't make this recipe, but it I know it would end up tasting too salty. Sugar is key in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suwon, Kyonggi-Do, South Korea
Living In: Akasaka, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
at last i find a recipe for the good stuff. my sister-in-law would make it your way with the exception of beer! can't wait to make it with the beer! she used to make it to take on little road trips. seems like you could feed an army with a cooler full of this stuff. we would save the marinade and boil the next day and pour over rice and eat kimchi or some other side dish. only other comment i have is the type of soy sause to use. just remember you get what you pay for. cheap is cheap. pay a little more for the good stuff and you'll find out it taste better and goes further than the cheapo generic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Olmsted Township, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Mine is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This was okay.... too salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I really thought this was delicious!! After reading all the reviews I decided to add 1/2c sugar to the recipe which may seem a lot but mine didn't turn out salty. I marinated overnight and I also used the remaining of some "cheap" soy sauce (Kikoman) and the rest of San-J. Is this a good brand? I think one poster had a good point and may be the quality of the soy sauce. So I will be making this again, I loved it because it was easy and very delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
It does not taste much like bulgogi, but it is rather tasty! I added 1/4 cup of sugar, as well. It would be way too salty without it! It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Having had bulgogi in Korea I was excited to find this recipe. However, this did not taste like bulgogi and I have dicarded the recipe. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States