Best Italian Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
My husband & my 1 year old both loved it! I didn't have any bell peppers & I used marsala red wine & a little bit of vermouth. I would have like it better if it had been thicker, so next time I will thicken it with corn starch. I sauteed the onions & garlic before adding them, but everything else I put in the slow cooker raw. I also added some raw spinach leaves, since I didn't have spinach pasta, and we served it over plain fettuccine. I followed another users advice and added the zucchini almost at the very end so it wasn't soggy, and I added 6 small zucchini, would have added more had we had it. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Serve over cheese ravioli or tortellini
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Good flavor overall, but I don't think it would be wise to add 16oz of noodles if you want any broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Excellent! I doubled the garlic, used penne pasta, and lowered the wine to about 3/4 cup as others suggested. I also used a chicken susage, so I had to saute in olive oil. I threw in a couple hand fulls of spinach at the end. I also sprinkled some shredded mozzarella and parmesan in each bowl and served with crusty buttered bread. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Very good. We love slow cooker soups, esp. now that fall is coming on. Re the tomatoes - sometimes you just have to use your common sense. Even tho the recipe doesn't tell you to chop the tomatoes, go ahead and do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Italian vegetable soups (minestrone) lend themselves well to preparing with, and making use of, whatever vegetables you have on hand. Given Hubs and I are returning to Italy in a couple of days, this was very appropriate in more ways than just its name! In keeping with the utilitarian aspect of Italian soups I was lucky not to have to buy anything from the grocery store as I had zucchini, green peppers and fresh parsley in my garden. I also had Swiss chard, which was a fine addition. I removed the sausage from the casings and used a little less wine. This is hearty and flavorful and now that it’s prepared it will be a cinch to serve (again) with minimal clean-up whenever we are ready to sit down and eat. But I do have some criticisms of the recipe if prepared as written. First, using whole peeled tomatoes without crushing or chopping them wouldn’t work well. I don’t think you’d want or like a whole tomato (or two or three) in your soup bowl. Second, a pound of pasta is a LOT of pasta for this. Half that is plenty. And fettuccine is not a good choice for soup. I prepared this on the stove-top rather than the slow cooker, simmering for about an hour, then adding the zucchini the last 10 minutes, and finally the cooked pasta (I used shells and elbows to use up small amounts I had left of both) after that. Last but certainly not least, be sure to sprinkle your bowl of soup with freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This soup got 5 stars from all of my family members. I made the following substitutions: 1. Used fresh spinach instead of zucchini 2. Used frozen tortellini instead of the fettuccine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy_H
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I made this for the first time and I'm eating it right now: delicious! I used hot Italian turkey sausage, uncased, and shiraz for the wine. I also took one reviewer's suggestion and sprinkled with a little mozzarella before serving. My only complaint: the directions didn't say anything about cutting the tomatoes, so I have a about 10 whole tomatoes floating in the finished soup, which was a little weird. I also should have cut the pasta -- it's a bit difficult to eat full linguini strands with a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ande2994

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This has become a winter favorite, great as written! It's a hearty meal, perfect served with warm bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States