Best Italian Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Great! Used organic penne noodles and natural sausage with casings removed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I read lots of the reviews so I decided to add the zucchini late in the cooking time and added spinach too. We like spicy food so I used half hot sausage and half sweet. I used a pound of each. I used fresh basil and cheese stuffed spinach tortellini. I have pest tortellini so I might use that in the winter months since fresh basil won't be available in the quantity that I would want. This soup is a keeper. It smells wonderful while cooking and tastes as good as it smells. Very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelli stein

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
My husband and I love this recipe, but I did make a few changes. I used turkey Italian sausage to cut the fat, and I replaced the zucchini and green pepper with one bunch of sautéed kale. It's cooking on my stovetop right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Good for a change
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Slade Talbot

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Supererb!! The only thing I changed was my cooking method...instead of a crockpot, I boiled everything in a large pot for about 30 mins (I did brown the sausage as the recipe directed prior to though, then I cut them into bite size pieces). The soup was absolutely delicious! A keep for me & the Hubby!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Delicioso! I took some to my mother, who declared it was out of this world. Very easy, and really good and filling. Instead of spinach fettucine, I used cheese tortellini cooked separately and added to each bowl. Oh, I'll be makin' this again!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This is a really good soup! I substituted the beef broth with vegetable and added fresh spinach and carrots. I also used dried parsley and bowtie noodles. I added the dry noodles during the last 20 minutes instead of cooking them first. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Plainfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hartsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
VERY GOOD. Only sub I made was to use Barilla Veggie Rotini noodles as that was all I could find. Thanks for the great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castorland, New York, USA
Living In: Glenfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Absolutely delicious. I halved the recipe and there was still plenty for 3 people and leftovers. I used a large can of crushed tomatoes with basil instead of the whole tomatoes and fresh basil instead of dried- just because I happened to have it on hand. I also added about 3 large chopped carrots. I used the spinach fettucini and didnt have the same issues with it that others mentioned (hard to get in spoon) because I broke it up before cooking. Very, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
My husband & my 1 year old both loved it! I didn't have any bell peppers & I used marsala red wine & a little bit of vermouth. I would have like it better if it had been thicker, so next time I will thicken it with corn starch. I sauteed the onions & garlic before adding them, but everything else I put in the slow cooker raw. I also added some raw spinach leaves, since I didn't have spinach pasta, and we served it over plain fettuccine. I followed another users advice and added the zucchini almost at the very end so it wasn't soggy, and I added 6 small zucchini, would have added more had we had it. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States