Best Italian Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Excellent! I doubled the garlic, used penne pasta, and lowered the wine to about 3/4 cup as others suggested. I also used a chicken susage, so I had to saute in olive oil. I threw in a couple hand fulls of spinach at the end. I also sprinkled some shredded mozzarella and parmesan in each bowl and served with crusty buttered bread. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Very good. We love slow cooker soups, esp. now that fall is coming on. Re the tomatoes - sometimes you just have to use your common sense. Even tho the recipe doesn't tell you to chop the tomatoes, go ahead and do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Italian vegetable soups (minestrone) lend themselves well to preparing with, and making use of, whatever vegetables you have on hand. Given Hubs and I are returning to Italy in a couple of days, this was very appropriate in more ways than just its name! In keeping with the utilitarian aspect of Italian soups I was lucky not to have to buy anything from the grocery store as I had zucchini, green peppers and fresh parsley in my garden. I also had Swiss chard, which was a fine addition. I removed the sausage from the casings and used a little less wine. This is hearty and flavorful and now that it’s prepared it will be a cinch to serve (again) with minimal clean-up whenever we are ready to sit down and eat. But I do have some criticisms of the recipe if prepared as written. First, using whole peeled tomatoes without crushing or chopping them wouldn’t work well. I don’t think you’d want or like a whole tomato (or two or three) in your soup bowl. Second, a pound of pasta is a LOT of pasta for this. Half that is plenty. And fettuccine is not a good choice for soup. I prepared this on the stove-top rather than the slow cooker, simmering for about an hour, then adding the zucchini the last 10 minutes, and finally the cooked pasta (I used shells and elbows to use up small amounts I had left of both) after that. Last but certainly not least, be sure to sprinkle your bowl of soup with freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This soup got 5 stars from all of my family members. I made the following substitutions: 1. Used fresh spinach instead of zucchini 2. Used frozen tortellini instead of the fettuccine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy_H
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I made this for the first time and I'm eating it right now: delicious! I used hot Italian turkey sausage, uncased, and shiraz for the wine. I also took one reviewer's suggestion and sprinkled with a little mozzarella before serving. My only complaint: the directions didn't say anything about cutting the tomatoes, so I have a about 10 whole tomatoes floating in the finished soup, which was a little weird. I also should have cut the pasta -- it's a bit difficult to eat full linguini strands with a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ande2994

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This has become a winter favorite, great as written! It's a hearty meal, perfect served with warm bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Combination of fabulous flavors have made this soup one of my favorites now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchenista Jane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pine, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This soup was great. I used hot Italian sausage, and substituted green beans for the green bell pepper. I also used spinach tortellini instead of spinach fettuccine. I served it with garlic bread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
UPDATED: THIS ROCKS! MADE THIS AGAIN, BUT THIS TIME I MADE A COUPLE OF CHANGES. TO START, I USED ONLY ONE (LARGE) ZUCCHINI. WHAT REALLY MADE A DIFFERENCE WAS THE ADDITION OF 1 T ITALIAN SEASONING (IN ADDITION TO THE SPICES CALLED FOR) AND HOT ITALIAN SAUSAGE. FYI: A CHEAP CABERNET SAUVIGNON WORKED JUST FINE IN THIS (DON'T WASTE YOUR $'S ON AN EXPENSIVE WINE!!!). MY HUSBAND RAVED HOW GOOD THIS WAS. :) WOW, WOW, WOW!!! This was just "OK" for me. Considering how little effort is required to throw this together, I guess I can't be too picky.... :) As a general rule of thumb, my hubs and I rarely share the same culinary POV - but that wasn't the case this time. Not only did we mutually agree that our soup was bland, we also felt it called for FAR too much zucchini (and we both enjoy this vegetable a LOT!). I'm not saying this was terrible, it just wasn't what I / we expected (everything smelled DIVINE when I dumped it in the slow cooker). Perhaps with a little added spice and HALF the amount of zucchini called for, this could have potential. NOTE: If using the fettuccine pasta, be SURE to break it up first (it's a lot easier to eat this way). Thanks for sharing, Perri. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States