Best Italian Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
This is gooood!!! Most of the people on here that said it wasn't good substituted ingredients. I did have to use a different pasta... but still used spinach pasta, just a different noodle. It turned out great. Thank you Perri for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
287 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
Great but don't add too many noodles or they will soak up all the good juices and it turns into a stew. Break up the noodles also to make it easier to serve and eat. I also increased the basil. (After making this for the last couple of years, I have modified it a bit. I don't put in the pasta. Now I cook tortellinis separately and add into each bowl before ladling in the soup. Then I sprinkle with Parmesan cheese. Wonderful. Loved by all.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
This soup is unbelievable. I'm not a big soup fan, but it sounded like it'd be different and tasty - and it is. My 10 and 11 year olds had seconds and thirds (they didn't care for the zucchini - but they're kids!) Like some other reviewers, I thought there wasn't quite enough liquid, so I added about one more cup of beef broth and about 1/4 cup more of wine - just right for our taste. I also didn't use fettucine - thought it would be hard to consume in a soup, so instead I used spinach penne pasta - it was perfect. I made plenty so I gave some to neighbors and they all loved it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Italian vegetable soups (minestrone) lend themselves well to preparing with, and making use of, whatever vegetables you have on hand. Given Hubs and I are returning to Italy in a couple of days, this was very appropriate in more ways than just its name! In keeping with the utilitarian aspect of Italian soups I was lucky not to have to buy anything from the grocery store as I had zucchini, green peppers and fresh parsley in my garden. I also had Swiss chard, which was a fine addition. I removed the sausage from the casings and used a little less wine. This is hearty and flavorful and now that it’s prepared it will be a cinch to serve (again) with minimal clean-up whenever we are ready to sit down and eat. But I do have some criticisms of the recipe if prepared as written. First, using whole peeled tomatoes without crushing or chopping them wouldn’t work well. I don’t think you’d want or like a whole tomato (or two or three) in your soup bowl. Second, a pound of pasta is a LOT of pasta for this. Half that is plenty. And fettuccine is not a good choice for soup. I prepared this on the stove-top rather than the slow cooker, simmering for about an hour, then adding the zucchini the last 10 minutes, and finally the cooked pasta (I used shells and elbows to use up small amounts I had left of both) after that. Last but certainly not least, be sure to sprinkle your bowl of soup with freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
This is a wonderful soup and one I use very often for family and friends! Instead of the 16 ounces of fettucine I use 8 ounces of small seashell pasta or a bag of frozen O'Brien potatoes. Also, instead of the zucchini I have used spinach or kale. Always a hit! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
MMMMM....This reminds me of a soup served by a popular Italian restaurant chain. This ia GREAT in the crock pot!!!! I remove casing from sausage, use white wine instead of red (personal preference), and use cheese filled pasta. Our favorite addition is to sprinkle shredded mozzerella on top each serving and let it melt. Gooey and delish!!!! Dont forget the bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Delicious! Since we like spicy food, I used hot Italian sausage in place of the sweet. Next time I will follow another reviewer's suggestion and use elbow macaroni instead of fettucine. Even though I cut the fettucine noodles up, they still made the soup hard to spoon up. Thanks for sharing, Perri.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
I have prepared this soup a few times for my family, and it is such a hit with them. The only recommendation I would make would be to add less red wine because the full cup and a half required can be over-powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna M.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
We absolutely LOVED this soup!! I made it last night and we're having it again tonight. We NEVER do that! I added one more cup of beef broth, bag of spinach instead of zucchini and cheese tortellini, which I cooked separately and spooned into bowls before covering with soup. This is a definite keeper! Oh - Also I used bulk Italian sweet sausage instead of links. So much easier to eat with a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seastheday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens Village, New York, USA
Living In: Southold, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
I only used 12 oz pasta - which turned out great, but make sure you stir it so that it does not stick to the bottom and burn, like in my case! It has great flavor, and I may try cooking the fettuccini on the side, as the soup came out starchy and a lot of the liquid was absorbed, so there was no 'soup' leftover. Very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States