Best Italian Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I made a number of modifications, not b/c I thought the recipe was lacking, but for my own tastes: 1. Subbed all beef broth for the wine, 2. Subbed carrots for the zucchini, 3. Used only one can of crushed tomatoes, 4. Subbed an Italian seasoning blend for the spices, 4. Used a red, orange and green pepper instead of just the green pepper, and 5. Used ditalini pasta. Lol, so, I guess the only thing I did per the recipe was the 1 1/2 sweet Italian sausage, garlic and the onion! But I did use it as a guide, which is what I do most often when using a recipe. Thank you for the inspiration for a new staple soup in my repertoire! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glammy Bee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Made it this afternoon and my husband said it was the best soup ever!! This soup will be made several times this winter. my new favorite comfort food. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
The original was awful. The red wine was so overpowering. I remade it without the wine and used chicken broth. It was soooo much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
My husband loved it (and he's a picky eater) Only variation was I used red pepper instead of green since he doesn't like green pepper. The spinach fettuccine was a great addition. Its a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I did not care for this recipe. Way too much wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I used only shells, but next time will use orzo instead. I also used more stock and wine, and half a small can of tomato paste; which produced a much richer broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
This soup was beyond my expectations. I changed the amount to 4 servings for just myself snd husband and I have more than enough for another meal!!! It came out delicious and I will now keep this as my go to soup for company....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I have made this recipe twice now and it is wonderful! This time I dumped the entire box of pasta in directly which is a big mistake. This turns it into a pasta dish instead of a soup. If you follow the directions, it is amazing. I used gluten free pasta once and wheat pasta for the other. Both were equally good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Yummy! Followed it as closely as I could. Used white wine(because that's all I had on hand,)and took another's advise and added the zucchini the last hour just to keep it from getting too mushy( but probably would be fine either way). Used cut up tomatoes instead of whole and hot Italian sausage (again all I had on hand).Didn't have fresh parsley so used 1/2 the amount dried, added the cooked pasta(I used shells) to individual bowls only because I planned to have lots of leftovers and didn't want the noodles to absorb all the liquid for he next day. Have made it twice so far , the first time exactly as written, the second time using what I had on hand, both were eaqually delicious!! Thanks for the recipe:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This is a great recipe.It was even better the next day as others have mentioned. My husband and I actually liked it better without pasta. We used spicy Italian sausage and the heat seemed to really increase the next day. I used less wine and only 1 zucchini and a bit more broth as well. Would make this again and cut the sausage into smaller bite-size pieces. Also took the sausage out of casing which was a good call by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States