Best Italian Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
UPDATED: THIS ROCKS! MADE THIS AGAIN, BUT THIS TIME I MADE A COUPLE OF CHANGES. TO START, I USED ONLY ONE (LARGE) ZUCCHINI. WHAT REALLY MADE A DIFFERENCE WAS THE ADDITION OF 1 T ITALIAN SEASONING (IN ADDITION TO THE SPICES CALLED FOR) AND HOT ITALIAN SAUSAGE. FYI: A CHEAP CABERNET SAUVIGNON WORKED JUST FINE IN THIS (DON'T WASTE YOUR $'S ON AN EXPENSIVE WINE!!!). MY HUSBAND RAVED HOW GOOD THIS WAS. :) WOW, WOW, WOW!!! This was just "OK" for me. Considering how little effort is required to throw this together, I guess I can't be too picky.... :) As a general rule of thumb, my hubs and I rarely share the same culinary POV - but that wasn't the case this time. Not only did we mutually agree that our soup was bland, we also felt it called for FAR too much zucchini (and we both enjoy this vegetable a LOT!). I'm not saying this was terrible, it just wasn't what I / we expected (everything smelled DIVINE when I dumped it in the slow cooker). Perhaps with a little added spice and HALF the amount of zucchini called for, this could have potential. NOTE: If using the fettuccine pasta, be SURE to break it up first (it's a lot easier to eat this way). Thanks for sharing, Perri. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Great Meal for a winter night. Made it just as directed with the exception of adding some spinach. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I made this recipe over the weekend, it was delicious, however I recommend not putting the pasta in unless you plan on eating the entire batch in one sitting. The pasta tends to absorb all the broth and gets mushy, the next time I make it (and I will make it again) I will only put the pasta in each individual serving reserving the rest of the pasta for the next meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gypsyclark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Townsend, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Great recipe! I bought a package of mild and a package of hot italian sausage - 1 pound each since they do not come in half pound packages and omitted the pepper in the recipe. This is delish!! I bought some of that jalepeno cheese bread from the grocery store bakery to dip in it and I have to say this was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I used penne instead of fettuccine pasta and I realized to late I forgot to buy the zucchini! So I used some green beans from our garden instead and they were perfect! Some really good tasty soup, everybody went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Awesome! I used hot italian sausage and brown rice instead of pasta...(had to make it wheat free)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
EXCELLENT. USED CHEESE FILLED SPINACH TORTELLINI. ONE 7OZ PACKAGE PLENTY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I made this for the first time ever and all I changed was the broth. I didn't have but one can of beef broth, so I added the rest low fat chicken broth. Served it with garlic bread and used macaroni for noodles. Delicious. Will definitely make this again and again in my slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Epuddle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
We absolutely LOVED this soup!! I made it last night and we're having it again tonight. We NEVER do that! I added one more cup of beef broth, bag of spinach instead of zucchini and cheese tortellini, which I cooked separately and spooned into bowls before covering with soup. This is a definite keeper! Oh - Also I used bulk Italian sweet sausage instead of links. So much easier to eat with a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seastheday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens Village, New York, USA
Living In: Southold, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
pretty good! needed to add more chicken broth though to get a good soup consistency. Used chicken sausage to make a little healthier. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States