Best Italian Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This soup got 5 stars from all of my family members. I made the following substitutions: 1. Used fresh spinach instead of zucchini 2. Used frozen tortellini instead of the fettuccine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy_H
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I made this for the first time and I'm eating it right now: delicious! I used hot Italian turkey sausage, uncased, and shiraz for the wine. I also took one reviewer's suggestion and sprinkled with a little mozzarella before serving. My only complaint: the directions didn't say anything about cutting the tomatoes, so I have a about 10 whole tomatoes floating in the finished soup, which was a little weird. I also should have cut the pasta -- it's a bit difficult to eat full linguini strands with a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ande2994

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This has become a winter favorite, great as written! It's a hearty meal, perfect served with warm bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Combination of fabulous flavors have made this soup one of my favorites now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchenista Jane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pine, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This soup was great. I used hot Italian sausage, and substituted green beans for the green bell pepper. I also used spinach tortellini instead of spinach fettuccine. I served it with garlic bread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
UPDATED: THIS ROCKS! MADE THIS AGAIN, BUT THIS TIME I MADE A COUPLE OF CHANGES. TO START, I USED ONLY ONE (LARGE) ZUCCHINI. WHAT REALLY MADE A DIFFERENCE WAS THE ADDITION OF 1 T ITALIAN SEASONING (IN ADDITION TO THE SPICES CALLED FOR) AND HOT ITALIAN SAUSAGE. FYI: A CHEAP CABERNET SAUVIGNON WORKED JUST FINE IN THIS (DON'T WASTE YOUR $'S ON AN EXPENSIVE WINE!!!). MY HUSBAND RAVED HOW GOOD THIS WAS. :) WOW, WOW, WOW!!! This was just "OK" for me. Considering how little effort is required to throw this together, I guess I can't be too picky.... :) As a general rule of thumb, my hubs and I rarely share the same culinary POV - but that wasn't the case this time. Not only did we mutually agree that our soup was bland, we also felt it called for FAR too much zucchini (and we both enjoy this vegetable a LOT!). I'm not saying this was terrible, it just wasn't what I / we expected (everything smelled DIVINE when I dumped it in the slow cooker). Perhaps with a little added spice and HALF the amount of zucchini called for, this could have potential. NOTE: If using the fettuccine pasta, be SURE to break it up first (it's a lot easier to eat this way). Thanks for sharing, Perri. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Great Meal for a winter night. Made it just as directed with the exception of adding some spinach. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I made this recipe over the weekend, it was delicious, however I recommend not putting the pasta in unless you plan on eating the entire batch in one sitting. The pasta tends to absorb all the broth and gets mushy, the next time I make it (and I will make it again) I will only put the pasta in each individual serving reserving the rest of the pasta for the next meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gypsyclark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Townsend, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Great recipe! I bought a package of mild and a package of hot italian sausage - 1 pound each since they do not come in half pound packages and omitted the pepper in the recipe. This is delish!! I bought some of that jalepeno cheese bread from the grocery store bakery to dip in it and I have to say this was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I used penne instead of fettuccine pasta and I realized to late I forgot to buy the zucchini! So I used some green beans from our garden instead and they were perfect! Some really good tasty soup, everybody went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States