Best Italian Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
What to say, what to say....I thought it was a 5 star, my husband thought it was 2 star, and my kids wouldn't eat it. What a shame, it was my favorite. I especially loved the zucchini. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I absolutely love this recipe and serve it whenever guests come into town. I usually use spinach (either fresh or the bagged frozen) rather than zucchini and I have made it with only 1 lb. sausage, and it always turns out amazing. I also use cheese tortellini, as another reviewer noted. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Eh, didn't care for this, but my husband enjoyed it. After cooking for the time stated in the recipe, I thought the green pepper strongly dominated the sauce. In fact, after only one hour cooking, I tasted the dish and felt the flavors were more well-balanced than the end result. So... if made again, I would probably shave off an hour or two of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Very hearty and yummy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
This was a very good recipe. After 4 hours in the crockpot, mine was not as thick as I would have liked. I ended up putting it on the stove, adding some cornstarch to thicken. It turned out great. Next time I would add dried spinach tortellini rather than fresh since the fresh is not bite size. I change to a 28 oz dice tomato and 14 1/2 oz petite dice tomato both drained. I also added about 1 tbls of tomato paste and a dash of italian seasoning. It turned out to be a great dinner on a chilly evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
It's a good start but it wasn't great for me. I guess it depends on the wine you put in also. I used a cooking sherry, guess I could've bought a good drinking wine. I needed to add some tomato paste to pep it up a bit. I also only used a mild italian sausage and used cheese tortellini. It needs more liquid after adding the tortellini. Next time I'll use a better wine and hotter italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This soup was very tasty and my family enjoyed it. I did not have time to cook the soup all day, so instead of using the crock pot, I cooked the veggies in the pot until soft - I used a bit more beef broth because I simmered it on the stove and it cooked down fairly quickly - from start to finish in about two and one-half hours. We also used cheese tortellini instead of the spinach pasta. Very hearty and warmed the soul on a cool fall evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Not bad! I used spicy italian sausage, which gave the soup a nice kick. Didn't have any red wine on hand, but I'm sure it adds even more flavor. Overall, not a bad dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CulinaryCutie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
I have prepared this soup a few times for my family, and it is such a hit with them. The only recommendation I would make would be to add less red wine because the full cup and a half required can be over-powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna M.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Great soup! We used tortellini instead of fettuccine pasta. Turned out great and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States