Best Italian Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I was time to clean out the freezer before we head north for the summer and I had enough Italian sausage to make this yummy soup. The recipe does make a lot but I froze half and will serve on a night when I'm sick of packing. Serve with a buttered roll, it is the best !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
This was perfect! A huge hit with the girlfriend and I thought it was excellent. The zucchini was a great addition to it. I had 3rds when I rarely finish a plate at supper. The only thing we did different was added 3/4 cup of red wine instead of 1 1/4. Definitely going to be made for lots of dinners in the future. Yummmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Hartman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Very yummy! This soup has a great flavor and I think you can customize the vegetables to your liking very easy. I added 8 ounces of mushrooms and red bell pepper instead of green. I also only added 8 ounces of shell pasta, I didn't want too many carbs. I also added a bag of fresh spinach half way through the cooking. I don't like red wine in my food so just substituted more beef broth. I will definately make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAmy1033

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cody, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Only okay. We didn't feel it had enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Don't usually love tomato based soups, but my non-soup loving hubby and I both loved this. I'll make it again. Less pasta, add frozen spinach.=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Quick, easy, AND delicious on a cold winter's night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
My husband and I love this soup. I added chopped spinach and used yellow and red bell peppers instead of green bell pepper. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I made this soup exactly as written, except we left the noodles out, and it turned out phenomenal! I made it a day in advance and let all the flavors blend overnight. Wow, my whole family said it was a winner. Honestly, we didn't intend on leaving out the pasta, but no one wanted to wait until they were done...ha. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izzzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tony Snearly
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This was a really great recipe to use as a base. I took a lot of variation inspiration from naples34103's comment as well. First I didn't cook it in a crockpot, but used a large 4-quart pot. I started the broth and spices heating on medium high heat to get it started. I used five fresh basil leaves rather than dried. Instead of red wine, I substituted with a cup of dark grape juice. As I completed prepping a vegetable off into the pot it went. I started with the (thinly sliced) zucchini. I added about twice as many tomatoes--which I had canned from my garden. As they had been blanched and were whole, as they cooked down I would fish them out with a large drain spoon and slice them into quarters on my chopping block and then dump them back into the pot. I also added Napa cabbage, fresh spinach, a couple green onions, and used Italian parsley. I removed the casings from the sausage and used one pound sweet Italian and a half pound mild, mixing it together in a bowl and rolled into small balls. After browning them on all sides in a skillet, I used my strainer spoon to fish them out and dump into my bowling pot. I also browned 3 chicken legs and dumped them whole into the pot. I used a combination of shell pasta and cheese tortellini, which was cooked separately and added to the pot after the soup had been cooking nearly an hour and a half+. Shredded mozzarella was lightly added to the top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony Snearly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I made a number of modifications, not b/c I thought the recipe was lacking, but for my own tastes: 1. Subbed all beef broth for the wine, 2. Subbed carrots for the zucchini, 3. Used only one can of crushed tomatoes, 4. Subbed an Italian seasoning blend for the spices, 4. Used a red, orange and green pepper instead of just the green pepper, and 5. Used ditalini pasta. Lol, so, I guess the only thing I did per the recipe was the 1 1/2 sweet Italian sausage, garlic and the onion! But I did use it as a guide, which is what I do most often when using a recipe. Thank you for the inspiration for a new staple soup in my repertoire! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glammy Bee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States