Best Hot Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Very good, the only bad part was that everyone kept asking if it was crab or artichoke dip. The worst part was that I used a really good can of jumbo lump crab, so next time I think I would just cut back on the artichoke. The recipe made a huge amount which was great. I just wanted it to taste more like crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This was not a big hit at the party. It was somewhat bland and expensive with fresh crab and I don't think I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Alexandria, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I feel bad for giving this recipe such a poor rating but it was just not for me. I really feel bad for wasting the lump crab meat my father hand picked and froze for me. Here's the thing. I love crab. I love the way it tastes and when I eat something with crab, I want crab to be the primary taste in the dish. The garlic, capers, and saltiness just totally took away from crab. I actually felt very dehydrated after eating it.. This dip just wasn't for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Excellent! Especially with the fresh lump that came in from Destin yesterday! YUMMY. This dip RULES with a fresh baked loaf of French bread and some Chardonnay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
this is a really yummy dip. i've made it several times for family functions and even the crab haters eat it. i do chop up the capers since they can be overpowering. makes quite a bit and i always have sevral people surrounding the dish dipping into it. tasty and easy. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buffyangel4ever

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
One of the best dip recipes I have ever used. I used this recipe at a party that I catered and got rave reviews and a request for it to be made again. The only thing I changed is the capers...I did not use them. You CAN NOT screw this recipe up. I used imitation crab meat from the seafood department and it was hard to tell the difference or maybe it tasted so good that no one minded. I don't recommend crab meat out of a can for this recipe. It will need to be stirred and set for a few minutes before you put it in the bread bowl. It is definitely a rich recipe but YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I like to use Jalepeno Monterey Jack with this recipe. I am making it right now for my Christmas party tomorrow night! I always double the meat! This is a must have at Every function!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyLou

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This is excellent! Makes a lot . Great for parties. Made it with canned crabmeat and thought that it didn't effect the taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATMC102

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Really great dip! I think the bad reviews are from people who just don't know what they are doing. My changes... I did not put in the capers since I did not have any. I used high quality cheeses which I am sure helps. I used canned crabmeat nothing fancy but I think it would be even better with a higher quality lump crab meat. Took this to my family of very picky eaters and they really loved it. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
A real crowd pleaser! The first time I made it I only tweaked it a little, and it turned out a little blend, but people still liked it. The second time, I used real crab meat AND twice as much as the recipe called for. I also held back on the artichoke, used nearly twice the amount of dill & Old Bay, and added a touch of cayenne to give it a kick. Because I had to change it up, I would have given this a 4.5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States