Best Hot Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 27, 2007
This recipe turned out great---I modified a little to reduce calories. I only used one can of crab (I halved the recipe--it makes a ton!), I used low fat cream cheese, sour cream, and mayo. I only used a couple hand fulls of shredded colby and monterray jack cheese. Overall--great dip---I used Ritz crackers for dipping--great combo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staunton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I made this dish as an appetizer for a family and dinner and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Oh man I and my friends loved this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara P

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Wiscasset, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Big hit at our "gourmet club". I did not use the sourdough bread (pita crackers on the side instead), skipped the capers and used spicy artichoke hearts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
New home staple recipe as revised. I was trying to replicate a recipe from my favorite restaurant and did. Served twice so far with people each time saying dip was best they have had. I omitted capers and dill and added curry, like my restaurant dish. I like mine thicker so left out buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
this recipe is pretty good but it is definately missing something I'm not sure what it is. It was worth trying though. I won't use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This was a very tasty & popular appetizer. I used 2 cans of lump crabmeat & 2 cans of backfin crabmeat. Next time. I would probably do entirely all lump meat. I served the dip in a bread bowl with crisp crackers. I did struggle with the dip being a little too runny & I had difficulty with it browning nicely on the top. I resorted to broiling it for the last 5 minutes. Overall, this is a definite do-again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmstarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Point, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This was an awful dip...Thank goodness I did a trial run...when I took it out of the oven there were pools of oil on the top and sides...too many fatty ingredients? there were unmixed lumps of cream cheese in various cooked pockets although I had stirred thoroughly...the cream cheese should have been beaten with the other ingredients with heavy duty mix master after softened? the capers were overwhelming in taste...they should have been finely diced? the garlic was overwhelming...maybe 1 tablespoon vs. 2? You should only use fresh crab meat...the canned taste was unmistakable (I thought that with all the yummy sounding ingredients the canned taste would cook out)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
This is the best dip EVER!!!!! I didn't put in the capers due to other people's suggestions, and this dip is to die for. My family has requested this for our Christmas Eve Party, and they now call it "My Famous Crab Dip" thanks to your recipe. It really reminds me of Red Lobster's Dip, but even better. Thank YOu@
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States