Best Hot Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
this is a really yummy dip. i've made it several times for family functions and even the crab haters eat it. i do chop up the capers since they can be overpowering. makes quite a bit and i always have sevral people surrounding the dish dipping into it. tasty and easy. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emiko Marcy Covert

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
One of the best dip recipes I have ever used. I used this recipe at a party that I catered and got rave reviews and a request for it to be made again. The only thing I changed is the capers...I did not use them. You CAN NOT screw this recipe up. I used imitation crab meat from the seafood department and it was hard to tell the difference or maybe it tasted so good that no one minded. I don't recommend crab meat out of a can for this recipe. It will need to be stirred and set for a few minutes before you put it in the bread bowl. It is definitely a rich recipe but YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I like to use Jalepeno Monterey Jack with this recipe. I am making it right now for my Christmas party tomorrow night! I always double the meat! This is a must have at Every function!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyLou

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This is excellent! Makes a lot . Great for parties. Made it with canned crabmeat and thought that it didn't effect the taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATMC102

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Really great dip! I think the bad reviews are from people who just don't know what they are doing. My changes... I did not put in the capers since I did not have any. I used high quality cheeses which I am sure helps. I used canned crabmeat nothing fancy but I think it would be even better with a higher quality lump crab meat. Took this to my family of very picky eaters and they really loved it. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
A real crowd pleaser! The first time I made it I only tweaked it a little, and it turned out a little blend, but people still liked it. The second time, I used real crab meat AND twice as much as the recipe called for. I also held back on the artichoke, used nearly twice the amount of dill & Old Bay, and added a touch of cayenne to give it a kick. Because I had to change it up, I would have given this a 4.5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Very good recipe. I come back to this year after year. I looked at my original copy and it was printed in 2003. Use only real crab meat. Canned doesn't do this recipe justice. I don't do the bread bowl - just serve with a variety of crackers and baguette slices. I add a bit more Old Bay (I'm in Maryland - I have to!), only about 1/4 cup of the capers. Also add a bit of crushed red pepper. Recipe is a bit expensive but worth the cost for special events/parties. (I only give 5 stars for truly exceptional recipes - I'd give this 4 1/2 if I could).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This is the best crab dip ever!! I'm not allowed to show up at parties without it!!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
It was very easy to make as well as tasty. Although I substituted a flavored sour cream, such as onions and chives in place of basic sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Middle River, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I made the dip with suggestions from the other reviews but I personally think the 1/2 cup of Capers should be cut down to 1/4 cup capers !! I took the dip to my sista's house for a BBQ and EVERYONE loved the dip..It's great with Wheat thins and also I only use 1 jar of Artichoke hearts !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States