Best Hot Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
It wasn't the best, but I would make it again. Next time I will use less Mayo. That was all I could taste at first until the flavors melded. Also, I cooked it in one dish and had to increase cooking time to double what the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Very good, the only bad part was that everyone kept asking if it was crab or artichoke dip. The worst part was that I used a really good can of jumbo lump crab, so next time I think I would just cut back on the artichoke. The recipe made a huge amount which was great. I just wanted it to taste more like crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This was not a big hit at the party. It was somewhat bland and expensive with fresh crab and I don't think I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Alexandria, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I feel bad for giving this recipe such a poor rating but it was just not for me. I really feel bad for wasting the lump crab meat my father hand picked and froze for me. Here's the thing. I love crab. I love the way it tastes and when I eat something with crab, I want crab to be the primary taste in the dish. The garlic, capers, and saltiness just totally took away from crab. I actually felt very dehydrated after eating it.. This dip just wasn't for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Excellent! Especially with the fresh lump that came in from Destin yesterday! YUMMY. This dip RULES with a fresh baked loaf of French bread and some Chardonnay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
this is a really yummy dip. i've made it several times for family functions and even the crab haters eat it. i do chop up the capers since they can be overpowering. makes quite a bit and i always have sevral people surrounding the dish dipping into it. tasty and easy. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buffyangel4ever

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
One of the best dip recipes I have ever used. I used this recipe at a party that I catered and got rave reviews and a request for it to be made again. The only thing I changed is the capers...I did not use them. You CAN NOT screw this recipe up. I used imitation crab meat from the seafood department and it was hard to tell the difference or maybe it tasted so good that no one minded. I don't recommend crab meat out of a can for this recipe. It will need to be stirred and set for a few minutes before you put it in the bread bowl. It is definitely a rich recipe but YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I like to use Jalepeno Monterey Jack with this recipe. I am making it right now for my Christmas party tomorrow night! I always double the meat! This is a must have at Every function!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyLou

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This is excellent! Makes a lot . Great for parties. Made it with canned crabmeat and thought that it didn't effect the taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATMC102

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Really great dip! I think the bad reviews are from people who just don't know what they are doing. My changes... I did not put in the capers since I did not have any. I used high quality cheeses which I am sure helps. I used canned crabmeat nothing fancy but I think it would be even better with a higher quality lump crab meat. Took this to my family of very picky eaters and they really loved it. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States