Best Hot Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
My sis-in-law made this for thanksgiving. We loved it so much I looed up the recipe and made it for another get-together. I am here again printing the recipe for our Christmas Party. It is a definite keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Big hit at a recent party. i used 1 cup shrimp, and 1 cup crab. Very very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
Made for Thanksgiving and thought it was great. Omitted the capers as we don't care for that taste. I made the night before and cooked it on Thanksgiving, totally forgetting to add the parmasean cheese and Old Bay Seasoning, and it was fine. Also used imitation crab and couldn't tell the difference. I like the suggestion of another reviewer about using Asiago cheese. I think that might give it a nice "kick." It makes a ton. If you make ahead of time, bake it another 10 minutes to compensate for everything being so cold. I also used only half of the garlic and you could still taste it quie a bit. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
This dip was ok but I had to add 2 additional cups of shrimp to make it substantial enough for our tastes. The amount of crab called for in the recipe got lost in all that cheese, mayo and buttermilk. I also would cut way back on or omit the capers next time. Didn't care for the salty, tangy bite in there. Also would add some Asiago cheese next time. I think that would bring it to being close to our favorite restaurant crab dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
My favorite allrecipes recipe so far. I've made this 4 times, and it's always a big hit. Just about any kind of cheese works great. I always 1/2 the artichoke and skip the capers. I also add a little Lawry's Red Pepper Seasoning Salt to the top along with the parmesan and Old Bay. I serve it with crackers or grilled bread brushed with olive oil and garlic. Good stuff! Add a little regular milk and use the leftovers on pasta :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
I have made this dip at least 3 or 4 times and all my family, friends and coworkers loved it. I pretty much followed the recipe to a "T" but sprinkled on more Old Bay and a little ground red pepper on top before baking. Also, I just served it in a casserole dish with crackers and bread chunks on the side for dipping. I am going to make it again for another family event but I think this time I may add a little horseradish to pep it up even further. Thanks Joelle! You really do know your crabs! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
This is a big hit whenever I serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
definitely tasted better the next day! i added extra old bay for a stronger taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
Okay dip, nothing special. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
This recipe is just awesome. I made it for a Superbowl party and it was a big hit. I allowed the dish to get cold and received rave reviews after it had cooled down as well. The capers seem to give this dish the extra pizzazz, so don't leave them out when preparing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FALNANGELZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States