Best Hot Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
3 words - OH MY GOSH! I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could - it was SO amazing I didn't want to share! I made a second batch and had some left over (hid it from my hubby) and it was good even cold! Unlike other reviewers, I enjoyed the taste of the capers. If you've never tried them before, add just a few - it gives this recipe a nice flavor. Thank you for sharing Joelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniBanani

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
Fantastic dip!! I've been looking for a great crab dip for years, and this is absolutely *IT*! The ingredients can get a bit spendy - there's lots of good stuff in there. But very much worth it. I served it out of a 2 quart crock with sourdough bread and restaurant-style tortilla chips. It also reheats well in the microwave. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Absolutely fantastic! I have been ordered to make this for every family gathering, and I am happy to oblige. I leave out the capers. I divide and bake the recipe in 4-5 shallow, oval scampi(?) dishes, then freeze a couple for later use. To freeze, after cooling, wrap dishes first in plastic wrap, then in foil. I serve with little toasts or toasted french bread slices. This dip is also awesome served cold and unbaked with chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
My sis-in-law made this for thanksgiving. We loved it so much I looed up the recipe and made it for another get-together. I am here again printing the recipe for our Christmas Party. It is a definite keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Big hit at a recent party. i used 1 cup shrimp, and 1 cup crab. Very very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
Made for Thanksgiving and thought it was great. Omitted the capers as we don't care for that taste. I made the night before and cooked it on Thanksgiving, totally forgetting to add the parmasean cheese and Old Bay Seasoning, and it was fine. Also used imitation crab and couldn't tell the difference. I like the suggestion of another reviewer about using Asiago cheese. I think that might give it a nice "kick." It makes a ton. If you make ahead of time, bake it another 10 minutes to compensate for everything being so cold. I also used only half of the garlic and you could still taste it quie a bit. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
This dip was ok but I had to add 2 additional cups of shrimp to make it substantial enough for our tastes. The amount of crab called for in the recipe got lost in all that cheese, mayo and buttermilk. I also would cut way back on or omit the capers next time. Didn't care for the salty, tangy bite in there. Also would add some Asiago cheese next time. I think that would bring it to being close to our favorite restaurant crab dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
My favorite allrecipes recipe so far. I've made this 4 times, and it's always a big hit. Just about any kind of cheese works great. I always 1/2 the artichoke and skip the capers. I also add a little Lawry's Red Pepper Seasoning Salt to the top along with the parmesan and Old Bay. I serve it with crackers or grilled bread brushed with olive oil and garlic. Good stuff! Add a little regular milk and use the leftovers on pasta :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
I have made this dip at least 3 or 4 times and all my family, friends and coworkers loved it. I pretty much followed the recipe to a "T" but sprinkled on more Old Bay and a little ground red pepper on top before baking. Also, I just served it in a casserole dish with crackers and bread chunks on the side for dipping. I am going to make it again for another family event but I think this time I may add a little horseradish to pep it up even further. Thanks Joelle! You really do know your crabs! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
This is a big hit whenever I serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States