Best Hamburger Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I have used this recipe so many times in the past year, and every time these burgers turn out fabulous. I live in France so everyone wants me to make my American burgers for them in the summers. This recipe is my go to, and I am now known for these burgers. Thanks for the great recipe! Definitely Best Hamburger Ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delafield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I modified this recipe a lot. I knew I wasn't going to enjoy the basil, oregano, parsley and rosemary in my burger so I left those out. I used 1.25lbs of ground beef. I strained out the powder part of an onion soup mix leaving only the dried onion bits to add to the meat. I added 1tsp of reduced sodium Worcestershire sauce, no soy sauce, 1tbsp on garlic powder, 1 egg, 1tsp of salt and about 1tbsp of fresh ground pepper and 1/3 cup of shredded sharp cheddar cheese. I fried up some bacon and fried my burgers in the rendered fat. I don't have a grill. :( I mixed up some yellow mustard with ketchup as a condiment, a slice of bacon or two on them, slapped some cheese on it and had them like that. We all liked them. For our taste, they weren't too salty. They were flavorful and moist that way. Good recipe to adjust to your own tastes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Very similar to the Ranch Burger, but instead it is the Onion Burger. It does taste a bit like meatloaf, but in my opinion, that's a good thing. I don't know what has happened to hamburger meat at the stores, but it just has almost no flavor anymore, so we have to add some flavor to it. I made a few changes to this recipe. I used bleu cheese instead of colby or jack cheese. I used 1/4 cup dry old fashioned oatmeal to make it a bit softer and moister. I also wanted to up the flavor a bit, but cut back on the salt, so I only used one fourth of a packet of onion soup mix, and to it I added 1/2 teaspoon dry curry powder (salt free), 1/2 teaspoon of Mrs. Dash seasoning (salt free), 1/4 teaspoon onion powder (salt free), 1/4 teaspoon ground celery seed (salt free), 1/4 teaspoon ground cayanne pepper, and 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper. I also added one heaping teaspoon of the finely minced garlic that comes in the little jars at the store (it's the garlic they use at most Chinese food restaurants). Wow! That was flavorful! Mix it all together with the finely chopped onion (I only used a small onion), oats and hamburger so that the seasoning is well distributed throughout. I left all the other ingredients the same. I think the dried oregano, basil, thyme, and rosemary made it so much better than I had even expected it to be. They are such savory spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This is the first burger I can eat without loading condiments on it. I followed the recipe minus the salt and rather than shredding the cheese, I cut it into cubes and stuffed it in the middle of the patty. It made the lean ground beef a bit juicier. Absolutely delicious. I will definitely be making these again and I can't wait for next summer. This will be a fantastic recipe to make at the cottage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I've made this several times now. The title speaks for itself. -I don't add any extra salt. The soup mix has enough. I don't find the hamburgers too salty. -You will develop toxic garlic breath
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I left out the 1/2 onion and the clove of garlic (thank God!) These burgers should be called the "Most Onion-y Burgers Ever"! I had to force my kids to eat every bite. My husband politely smiled and at his. When I said sheepishly that I left out the additional onion and garlic - he said, "wow! really?" We ate them 8 hours ago, and I am still burping the hamburger up! Yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
These are not hamburgers, they are meatloaf burgers. If you are expecting (or want) a hamburger, do not use this recipe. If you want a meatloaf burger, have at it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Way too salty and way too many bizarre flavors for a great hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
So yummy, i made these for dinner and followed the recipe to a T...now we make them once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenAshley033

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halethorpe, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
These were very good hamburgers!! I used an all-purpose seasoning blend that was salt free but kept everything else the same. I might have forgot the cheese inside the burgers but I did top it with a slice of colby-jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Hamburger Ever

See how to make juicy grilled burgers loaded with good stuff.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States