Best Guacamole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
My son and a friend wanted to have Guacamole for a snack, and I had never made it. I read the reviews of others for this recipe, and the version I prepared won rave reviews from the guys. I used fresh lime juice instead of lemon, decreased the olive oil to 1 tsp and added 1 clove minced garlic, 1 tbsp chopped cilantro and 1/4 cup chopped tomato to the rest of the ingredients. It sat for less than 5 minutes as it got eaten too fast! My son says it's the best Guacamole he has ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
659 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
This is a good base recipe, but for really good guac, you have to add some fresh cilantro. I would also omit the olive oil, and add a little cumin and a tomato. Or even roasted tomatillos if you have the time. I'd also use lime juice instead of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
506 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
This is a good base recipe, but for really good guac, you have to add some fresh cilantro, garlic powder & tomatoe. I would also omit the olive oil, Makes it oily & slimy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
248 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
You can't have guacamole without cilantro. I would leave out the oil, add some fresh chopped cilantro and chopped tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
This recipe was only O.K....I had to use 3 avocados instead of two because once I added the oilve oil, it was very oily! I will use less oil next time! I also added some salsa to hide the oil taste. However, once I chilled it for a couple of hours, it was much better. Everyone enjoyed it at my dinner party. I will make it again but definately use a little less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
I thought this recipe was great, I just added a little garlic and tomato and it was the best guacamole I ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
Kids are in school and I'm alone for the first time in two months with the computer all to myself! I personally love guacamole almost any way it's prepared. This is a good basic recipe which I often make when it's used as one of the layers with my mexican dip, without the oil. When serving alone, I like to add some roasted red peppers, onion and garlic powders and a little cayenne for a bit of a kick. Such a refreshing dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
This didn't impress me too much. I may have had smaller avocados then the write used, becuase mine came out way too lemony and oily. I have found an even simpler and tastier recipe from the CA Avocado Commission that I use regularly now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonganoxie, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
I have made this recipe 3 times in the last week, and plan to make it again today. It's that good. I once forgot to add the Olive Oil, and wondered why it was so thick. If you don't normally like Olive Oil, then don't add it. The Lemon and salt reminds of drinking Margaritas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
It lives up to it's name. I would suggest, though, not using so much lemon. Overall a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edgewood, Maryland, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Guacamole

This guacamole will become your go-to recipe—it's easy and delicious.

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Easy Guacamole

See how to make classic, quick-and-easy guacamole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States