Best Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
This was great! I used pepper bacon instead of regular bacon. Also, my husband and I both agreed that it would be better with fresh green beans so I used 2 1/2 lbs of beans (I increased the servings to 15) This worked great. My neice and nephew who normally don't eat beans loved them. Will definiely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
This was a HUGE hit. I used sliced mushrooms from a jar and it was just great. Didn't understand why the soy sauce but I followed the recipe just the same. I think it sets off something in the flavors. PERFECT! Made this at Thanksgiving just because it's easy to do in large quantity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
UH-Mazing! I used frozen green beans and cooked them prior to adding to bacon/mushroom mixture. There is a lot of grease from the bacon, so I prefer to drain most of the grease before adding in the green beans. Wonderful recipe-- I made it for the in-laws, and my mother-in-law actually asked me for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I'd give this recipe more stars if I could! This recipe was fantastic!!! I made the beans for a cookout with friends and even though I doubled the recipe it was all gone! Made it again for the family and they loved it! I took the advice of another reviewer and added a splash of Worchester sauce - it adds a little something. But really the recipe is great! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Didn't measure, just used ingredients in the proportions that seemed right for me. I used frozen, French-Style green beans and this was a nice way to dress them up. I particularly enjoyed the flavor the soy sauce contributed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
This is a great green bean recipe. The bacon gives it such a nice flavor. Next time I will use fresh or frozen green beans because the canned ones are too soft for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evergreen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Ewwww. This really was horrible. The smell itself made me scared to try the dish. However, I did try it and sadly, the smell was better than the taste. Stay away from this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This was great! I did change it a little. Because I ran out of garlic cloves, I used about an 1/8 to 1/4 tsp. garlic powder. I omitted the soy sauce and replaced it with salt and quite a bit of pepper. I used frozen green beans instead of canned French cut green beans for a higher nutritional value. I also omitted the mushrooms because I don't really like them. Otherwise, it was awesome served with French toast and baked apples. Made for a great, elegant breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Hastings, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
These were really good. I used all the bacon grease too (per a previous review) and my uber picky husband and son couldn't get enough. The soy sauce was good, but I also added a dash of worshershire (also per previous reviews) and it made it better. Overall a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lhampton
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Very tasty!!! Nice change for green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by syaskiewicz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cashiers, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States