Best Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This is basically our standard green bean casserole recipe with some minor modifications I've made over the years. It's ALWAYS the first to disappear at potlucks when there are other versions of green bean casseroles and people often ask why it seems to taste so much better than the original one on the French's can. I always use French-cut green beans, add a (drained) can of sliced water chestnuts (coarsely chopped) and stir 3 ounces of the French fried onions into the casserole along with ALL of the cheddar cheese. Heating the ingredients in the microwave is really an unnecessary step. Bake in a flat casserole dish 30-35 minutes or until hot in the center. Then sprinkle the other 3 ounces of French fried onions over the top and bake 5 minutes more. We much prefer the cheese stirred INTO the casserole and NOT put on top. When doubling the recipe, using one can of water chestnuts works fine since a whole can is almost too much (but we like the crunch!) for a single recipe, depending on personal taste. If I'm trying to extend the number of servings for a double recipe then I generally use 2 cans of water chestnuts for that. A tried and true yummy favorite of many – thanks, Jan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
485 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alligator, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
DO NOT try to get away with frozen green beans in this casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
This is sooooo darn good ! I am hooked and I will make this ALOT ! I like lots of crunch so I added more onions . This is a must try !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Green bean casseroles aren't my favorite vegetable casseroles to make, but as far as they go, this one is great! Instead of microwaving I put everything in the casserole (minus 1/2 c cheese and the fried onions) at 350 for 20 minutes, sprinkled on the rest of the cheese and the onions, then baked for about 7 minutes more. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Talk about kicking it up a notch! Jan, this was a perfect example of how small changes can make a BIG difference. This was so good, that my family asked me to make it AGAIN the day after Christmas! And the reviewer who questioned that this was a recipe? Any time you combine two or more ingredients, it's a recipe! And an awesome one this was.... thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
This is the third time I've made it; and we've gotten awesome reviews. The bowl is always cleaned out. I've preassembled this the night before and taken out an hour before to sit at room temperature and then cooked as described. Awesome and easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I followed Memphisbelles advice and made with cannned french cut green beans, didn't microwave and mixed in the cheese and onions (didn't add the water chestnuts) but did add some real bacon bits. Double the recipe if you need a 13X9 size. They were licking the pan clean at the party I took it to...I love when I'm asked for the recipe...thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. I used fresh, yellow and green, beans for color (if you use fresh, microwave beans for about 5-7 min on high before adding other ing.) and mixed everything all together(including about 1/2 of the fried onions) except a little cheese which I set aside, to add to the top before baking. I also mixed the cheddar cheese with about 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese before adding to the top. I didn't add the remaining onions until right before serving, to keep them crunchy and it was delish! REMINDER: Do not add milk to soup before using. I am sure that is why some people complained about it being "runny"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICURN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Torrance, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
This recipe was easy and delicious! My only recommendation: add more cheese to the topping and less french fried onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This was okay. Definitely needs some salt. I'll probably omit the cheese next time, or at the very least, not put any on top. It made the onions chewy instead of crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States