Best Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I found frozen green beans to be much less mushy. If you unthaw and squeeze the water out of the green beans, this dish turns out great. Thanks for the base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrncssLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I made this recipe for thanksgiving. I added a can of mushrooms, used 2 cans of french style green beans, I stirred in 2.5 ounces of french fried onions and some cheese into the dish and baked is a little just as the cheese was melting then I put the french fried onions on top of it and baked it until the onions were golden brown. It was a major hit, as a matter of a fact it was the only food that there wasn't any leftovers of. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Giving a 4 only because I used the alterations from another reviewer...this way is for sure a 5! Skip the microwave, use canned french cut green beans, add 1 can sliced water chestnuts (I sliced the slices in to 1/3's and 1 can of water chestnuts is ok for a single or double batch) combine all ingredients in a casserole dish except for 1/2 the onions and mix well. Bake at 350 about 30 minutes, add the rest of the onions on top and bake 5 minutes more. Brought it to Thanksgiving this year and everyone loved it! Warmed up the very little bit of what was left over in the microwave and it was just as good as before, if not a bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Holy cow, this was excellent. Very easy to prepare. I just made it for Thanksgiving dinner and it was a hit. I did double the recipe for our family of 5, and it was WAY more than enough. Lots of leftovers.. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMAKNIGHT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
easy recipe that's a new favorite. i added a little mrs. dash for more flavor. nice alternative to the traditional green bean casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I just made this last night for our company's Thankgiving dinner and everyone liked it. Thanks so much for a quick and easy contribution to a potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Camp Kinser, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I also love this recipe, and learned it from my grandma. we use the water chestnuts as well but slice (the sliced) water chestnuts into quarters. omit the cheese totally, stir in half the can of onions, put the other half on top (about 5 mins before done) and stir in salt and pepper and also a teaspoon approx. of creole seasoning. also it makes it great if you grease the dish with butter before you pour it in!!! all in all excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIXIE6800

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Great recipe that is easy to make! Made 2 versions and I liked this one best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Made this a year ago to bring to my in-laws for Thanksgiving - was absolutely awesome! I used whole frozen green beans. If you use frozen beans, I recommend defrosting/heating them first in order to more easily mix in the soup and cheese. Then I just popped it all in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I've never made green bean casserole before, but this was SUPER easy and SUPER yummy. The cheese really sends it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States