Best Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I made this in a microwave-safe casserole dish from start to finish. I've made it 3 times and the time it took in my microwave varied anywhere from 7 to 10 min. This is BEST green bean casserole I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryeileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I love this recipe too! My only suggestion, use either fresh or frozen green beans. The canned ones have an aweful brownish appearance and aren't as healthy....they also taste too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This was really good...I used fresh green beans but didn't have enough so I had to throw in some canned corn...still turned out yummy. And I used cream of chicken, because I really dislike mushrooms, and again still liked. Only I don't think it makes the best leftovers, so make sure that you can finish it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Talk about kicking it up a notch! Jan, this was a perfect example of how small changes can make a BIG difference. This was so good, that my family asked me to make it AGAIN the day after Christmas! And the reviewer who questioned that this was a recipe? Any time you combine two or more ingredients, it's a recipe! And an awesome one this was.... thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This was great the cheese really added to the flavor and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Green bean casseroles aren't my favorite vegetable casseroles to make, but as far as they go, this one is great! Instead of microwaving I put everything in the casserole (minus 1/2 c cheese and the fried onions) at 350 for 20 minutes, sprinkled on the rest of the cheese and the onions, then baked for about 7 minutes more. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
This was absolutely delicious! I dont like cream of mushroom soup so I used cream of celery and it was wonderful! I definately recommend this recipe to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This is basically our standard green bean casserole recipe with some minor modifications I've made over the years. It's ALWAYS the first to disappear at potlucks when there are other versions of green bean casseroles and people often ask why it seems to taste so much better than the original one on the French's can. I always use French-cut green beans, add a (drained) can of sliced water chestnuts (coarsely chopped) and stir 3 ounces of the French fried onions into the casserole along with ALL of the cheddar cheese. Heating the ingredients in the microwave is really an unnecessary step. Bake in a flat casserole dish 30-35 minutes or until hot in the center. Then sprinkle the other 3 ounces of French fried onions over the top and bake 5 minutes more. We much prefer the cheese stirred INTO the casserole and NOT put on top. When doubling the recipe, using one can of water chestnuts works fine since a whole can is almost too much (but we like the crunch!) for a single recipe, depending on personal taste. If I'm trying to extend the number of servings for a double recipe then I generally use 2 cans of water chestnuts for that. A tried and true yummy favorite of many – thanks, Jan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
506 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alligator, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This turned out delicious! I love green beans but have always thought green bean casserole was pretty bland. So I appreciate the reviews that suggested adding roasted garlic mushroom soup, which is what I did...excellent. Everyone at my office devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by austinveggiegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
WHAT'S THE BIG DEAL?? People posted 5 stars and raved about this recipe and I'm going, "Huh?" I just needed a very simple, quick and easy green bean dish so I went with this. It was, well, green beans. I wouldn't call this a "recipe" though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Applesauce31

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States