Best Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I prepared this recipe for Thanksgiving and found it to be good. I've prepared other green bean casseroles and found this recipe to be comparable to the others. I wouldn't say that this was the "best", but it was good. I would use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I liked this a lot but am giving only 4 stars instead of 5 because it seems so unhealthy. Still, when you need a green bean casserole (Thanksgiving), this is the one to go with! I used frozen green beans (thawed) and stirred 3 ounces of the CHEDDAR FLAVOR French fried onions into the casserole along with ALL of the cheddar cheese. I used Healthy Request soup. I did not heat anything in the microwave. Baked in a 9x13 dish 30-35 minutes or until hot in the center. Then sprinkled the other 3 ounces of French fried onions over the top and baked 5 minutes more. I liked this better than the standard Green Bean Casserole Recipe and will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
No kidding - this was my favorite thing on the table this Thanksgiving. Absolutely the best green bean casserole I've ever had. I am telling everyone now to put cheese in their green bean casserole. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This was pretty good. I doubled the recipe and used frozen green beans that I thawed most of the way. I stirred about 1.5 cups of cheese into the casserole along with 1 (6 oz.) can of fried onions and used another can of fried onions on top. I did not bother microwaving the ingredients - I just put them into a 9X13 pan and cooked it at 350 for about 30 minutes before putting the rest of the onions on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Delicious, this dish did not last long! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
My boyfriend doesn't like green beans and was skeptical about green bean casserole, so I made this recipe because of the cheese. He liked it and so did I! Nice and simple, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I found frozen green beans to be much less mushy. If you unthaw and squeeze the water out of the green beans, this dish turns out great. Thanks for the base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrncssLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I made this recipe for thanksgiving. I added a can of mushrooms, used 2 cans of french style green beans, I stirred in 2.5 ounces of french fried onions and some cheese into the dish and baked is a little just as the cheese was melting then I put the french fried onions on top of it and baked it until the onions were golden brown. It was a major hit, as a matter of a fact it was the only food that there wasn't any leftovers of. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Giving a 4 only because I used the alterations from another reviewer...this way is for sure a 5! Skip the microwave, use canned french cut green beans, add 1 can sliced water chestnuts (I sliced the slices in to 1/3's and 1 can of water chestnuts is ok for a single or double batch) combine all ingredients in a casserole dish except for 1/2 the onions and mix well. Bake at 350 about 30 minutes, add the rest of the onions on top and bake 5 minutes more. Brought it to Thanksgiving this year and everyone loved it! Warmed up the very little bit of what was left over in the microwave and it was just as good as before, if not a bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Holy cow, this was excellent. Very easy to prepare. I just made it for Thanksgiving dinner and it was a hit. I did double the recipe for our family of 5, and it was WAY more than enough. Lots of leftovers.. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMAKNIGHT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States