Best Fried Walleye Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This is the traditional way of preparing walleye along with northern pike found in the fresh water lakes in northern Minnesota. My Grandma used to prepare it this way and it truly is the best fried fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This is the best way to do any fillets! My dad use it back in the 50's, I was a kid than, I'am over 68 now and use today.So do my kids, kids as will.THE BEST !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grpa
Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This is a nice simple recipe and great way to get a nice crispy cracker coating on fish. The coating lacks a lot of flavor but I am sure that is so the flavor of fish will shine through, that is if you are able to find fish that has flavor. I purchased wild caught walleye on sale from the grocery store fish counter and was a bit disappointed in the lack of flavor the fish had. All we could really taste was the coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
The coating does not have a lot of flavor as it is not suppose to. That is the beauty of walleye. You do not want to ruin it with a heavily flavored coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by organic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carrington, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
My husband went charter fishing and brought home already cleaned beautiful walleye filets. I love to cook,and grew up in a kitchen but had never cooked fish before. This recipe has put my fears to rest. The coating was nice, light and crunchy. I did not alter the recipe other than I added a bit more garlic and some seasoning salt to the flour mix. I will use this to deep fry fish forever!!! This coating would do my Papa proud!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This is more or less "exactly" how its supposed to be done! It can be difficult (at best!) to get it all down on a single piece of paper....my notes would be to let the coatings set for a bit, that they adhere that much better....and I would be using lard, as opposed oil, but that's just me, but everything else in this recipe is fully correct!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I loved , loved, loved my fish. I couldn't even share it with my dogs and that is a rarity!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Easy & the kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is a very easy and very tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This recipe is amazing! Best pub-style fish I've made at home, and now the only fish my kids want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcoralee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States