Best Fried Walleye Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by cannonc
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Excellent. Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Awesome stuff! I love to fish, but rarely do I cook 'em up (I typically give them to others who want 'em or practice catch & release), so I'm not the greatest fish fryer. Got two nice walleye the other day and decided to fry them for my wife and I. I've only had fried walleye a few times (they were awesome!), but my wife had never had walleye, ever. My wife absolutely loved the fish and I thought it was just as good as anything I've ever had. Thanks for the recipe! Also, a good note on testing the hot oil with dropping cracker crumbs in it. I burnt the first fillet (it was my first fried walleye fillet, so I was testing the oil), but I found the temperature sweet spot after that. It should be noted I couldn't find the thermometer, so testing with the cracker crumbs made it possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
OMG! I cook a lot and there are hits and misses! I love chicken and beef and pasta etc but FISH??? No way ! Friends gave us 4.5 lbs of walleye they. Caught and we were verklempt. Anyway. We tried 2 recipes. The other one included bread crumbs , Parmesan and baking. Fair but icky medium quality baked restaurant fish! THIS recipe however rocked the house and made excellent fish sandwiches the next day! I swear I am having a fried clam, oyster, high quality fish day soon- with this favorite childhood SALTINE recipe! Let's figure out how to add bacon and crusty bread! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Yes this is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
used this on lake perch... even the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I didn't have saltines so I used chex cereal. So good we ate it two times this week. Thanks for a wonderful fish recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I thought this was quite good but the kids and husband just thought it was okay. Walleye doesn't seem to have a very strong taste so you would think a simple coating would be good but I guess we wanted to add some flavor. Maybe a dill sauce over top would do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
First time making walleye & the picky husband and I both loved it! The crackers really made a difference I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RN1989

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This recipe is amazing! Best pub-style fish I've made at home, and now the only fish my kids want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcoralee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is a very easy and very tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States