Best Fried Walleye Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by cannonc
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Excellent. Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Awesome stuff! I love to fish, but rarely do I cook 'em up (I typically give them to others who want 'em or practice catch & release), so I'm not the greatest fish fryer. Got two nice walleye the other day and decided to fry them for my wife and I. I've only had fried walleye a few times (they were awesome!), but my wife had never had walleye, ever. My wife absolutely loved the fish and I thought it was just as good as anything I've ever had. Thanks for the recipe! Also, a good note on testing the hot oil with dropping cracker crumbs in it. I burnt the first fillet (it was my first fried walleye fillet, so I was testing the oil), but I found the temperature sweet spot after that. It should be noted I couldn't find the thermometer, so testing with the cracker crumbs made it possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
OMG! I cook a lot and there are hits and misses! I love chicken and beef and pasta etc but FISH??? No way ! Friends gave us 4.5 lbs of walleye they. Caught and we were verklempt. Anyway. We tried 2 recipes. The other one included bread crumbs , Parmesan and baking. Fair but icky medium quality baked restaurant fish! THIS recipe however rocked the house and made excellent fish sandwiches the next day! I swear I am having a fried clam, oyster, high quality fish day soon- with this favorite childhood SALTINE recipe! Let's figure out how to add bacon and crusty bread! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Yes this is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
used this on lake perch... even the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I didn't have saltines so I used chex cereal. So good we ate it two times this week. Thanks for a wonderful fish recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I thought this was quite good but the kids and husband just thought it was okay. Walleye doesn't seem to have a very strong taste so you would think a simple coating would be good but I guess we wanted to add some flavor. Maybe a dill sauce over top would do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
First time making walleye & the picky husband and I both loved it! The crackers really made a difference I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RN1989

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This recipe is amazing! Best pub-style fish I've made at home, and now the only fish my kids want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcoralee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is a very easy and very tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States