Best Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
THE BEST fried green tomatoes are what this recipes provides! I am a southerner now living in Colorado and really appreciate a great fried green tomato (or two or three or...) now and then. These are the best I've ever had... even when considering some really great southern restaurants I've been to. I followed this recipe to the letter and wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Have never made FGT before and this recipe was so great. I actually did not even following the instructions and put all the dry items together. I did use garlic breadcrumbs though. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amy bacon
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
awesome! so easy and so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Excellent recipe, everyone loved them. I cut my a little thinner and added some bacon grease to the oil for a little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Made these with fresh green tomatoes picked from my daughter's garden. Used 1/2 cup of flour as suggested. These are delicious, crispy, tangy & beautifully encrusted. Some of the best I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loleina
Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
These were delightful! I didn't add any milk to my eggs - just whisked them without it. I sliced my tomatoes rather thin, as that's how we really like it. Added some garlic and onion powder to the cornmeal and bread crumbs and we enjoyed them as part of a summer veggie supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I LOVED THIS RECIPE. but i changed a couple of things because, being from Mississippi, even though we LOVE to eat, one WHOLE green tomatoe per person was a bit much. I used 1/4 cup italian breadcrumbs, 1/4 cup of cornmeal, 2 pinches of coarse ground salt, 1/4 tsp fresh ground pepper, and 1/2 c APF, 1 egg, 1/4 milk and 2 lg, not extra large, but large green tomatoes cut 1/4 inch--everybody knows a half inch is too thick! Y'all, these were better than my grandmothers! mmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Excellent. Used on green tomatoes, yellow squash, cucumbers, and mushrooms with great success. Keep the basic process/ingredients but feel free to change up the seasonings - use Cajun, or Old Bay, or Italian, or whatever you like. Nice crunchy breading but not too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Solon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
FANTASTIC!! I had leftover batter and crumbs, so I sliced up some onions and made onion rings. I'll be using this recipe to fry up everything known to man! :D Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 461) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States