Best Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I love them but add a teaspoon of splenda to my egg and milk mixture to tone down the bitterness of some different kinds of tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This was a total hit!!! My mom, whom has had MANY dishes of FGT in her life said these were the best she has ever had. She said they beat the "bang bang shrimp" at BoneFish, a local fancy restaurant, where everyone says that the shrimp is the best appetizer ever. I got lots of "wow, goodness! so good! these are awesome!" They hardly stopped showering me with compliments. This is the first time that I have ever made this dish, and I don't cook often. Easy to do, and very difficult to mess up. Recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
The best I've ever made or had, just be careful not to burn. Used an old black skillet and they were perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
First time I have ever made fried green tomatoes. Everyone loved it! I overheated my oil so the first few were a little extra toasty on the outside and not quite cooked through on the inside. I suggest that if you are a relatively inexperienced 'fryer', as I am, that you devise a way to test your oil temperature before putting all your tomatoes to fry (either by testing one or actually using a kitchen thermometer). Since the tomato slice is quite thick, you may need to leave it frying a little bit longer to make sure it cooks all the way through. Once I got the temperature just right, they were crunchy on the outside and tender juicy on the inside: fantastic! I made these right after watching the movie "Fried Green Tomatoes." They go together perfectly! The thick slices are so much more satisfying than thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin Lange
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Followed exactly as written except used seasoned breadcrumbs, since that's what I had on hand. Scrumptious! Fried them in canola oil and topped with a bit if Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Lange

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Very good, but very salty. Will definitely try again with a quarter of the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allanah Weatherby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
family loved it. Came out good and I didn't have bread crumbs to mix with cornmeal got gone before I could take a photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Don't discard the ends! I chop them up with a little onion and a touch of garlic and dash of lemon juice if you like it, and either do a quick sizzle or a minute or two in the microwave and it makes a great fresh salsa for sprinkling on top. feeling decadent - toss in a taste of EVOO or butter ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryalice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trappe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I just used eggwash,no flour, and substituted panko bread crumbs,and added some other sesonings, and they turned out AMAZING!!! . Served with a mix of sour cream and ranch dressing on the side to dip in and they were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This is a good general base recipe, but if you're like me, you'll want to experiment with it and make it a little less bland. Also, you can cut the flour in half and still have plenty, and add a little more cornmeal. I also used buttermilk instead of regular milk. After all, what's a southern recipe without buttermilk? I used some Creole seasoning as well. I also fry mine in bacon grease, instead of just oil. Everybody has a different taste, and this recipe will be good if it is left well alone, but GREAT if changed up just a bit. Fried green tomatoes are pretty forgiving, so don't be afraid to experiment!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 461) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States