Best Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
The best I've ever made or had, just be careful not to burn. Used an old black skillet and they were perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
First time I have ever made fried green tomatoes. Everyone loved it! I overheated my oil so the first few were a little extra toasty on the outside and not quite cooked through on the inside. I suggest that if you are a relatively inexperienced 'fryer', as I am, that you devise a way to test your oil temperature before putting all your tomatoes to fry (either by testing one or actually using a kitchen thermometer). Since the tomato slice is quite thick, you may need to leave it frying a little bit longer to make sure it cooks all the way through. Once I got the temperature just right, they were crunchy on the outside and tender juicy on the inside: fantastic! I made these right after watching the movie "Fried Green Tomatoes." They go together perfectly! The thick slices are so much more satisfying than thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin Lange
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Followed exactly as written except used seasoned breadcrumbs, since that's what I had on hand. Scrumptious! Fried them in canola oil and topped with a bit if Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Lange

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Very good, but very salty. Will definitely try again with a quarter of the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allanah Weatherby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
family loved it. Came out good and I didn't have bread crumbs to mix with cornmeal got gone before I could take a photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Don't discard the ends! I chop them up with a little onion and a touch of garlic and dash of lemon juice if you like it, and either do a quick sizzle or a minute or two in the microwave and it makes a great fresh salsa for sprinkling on top. feeling decadent - toss in a taste of EVOO or butter ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryalice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trappe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I just used eggwash,no flour, and substituted panko bread crumbs,and added some other sesonings, and they turned out AMAZING!!! . Served with a mix of sour cream and ranch dressing on the side to dip in and they were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This is a good general base recipe, but if you're like me, you'll want to experiment with it and make it a little less bland. Also, you can cut the flour in half and still have plenty, and add a little more cornmeal. I also used buttermilk instead of regular milk. After all, what's a southern recipe without buttermilk? I used some Creole seasoning as well. I also fry mine in bacon grease, instead of just oil. Everybody has a different taste, and this recipe will be good if it is left well alone, but GREAT if changed up just a bit. Fried green tomatoes are pretty forgiving, so don't be afraid to experiment!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
THE BEST fried green tomatoes are what this recipes provides! I am a southerner now living in Colorado and really appreciate a great fried green tomato (or two or three or...) now and then. These are the best I've ever had... even when considering some really great southern restaurants I've been to. I followed this recipe to the letter and wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Have never made FGT before and this recipe was so great. I actually did not even following the instructions and put all the dry items together. I did use garlic breadcrumbs though. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States