Best Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I prefer my tomatoes to be a bit on the pink toward red before frying. This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mammoth Lakes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jenfondren
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
My family loved the recipe. The only adjustment I made was I used mushroom batter instead of cornmeal because I was out of cornmeal. I also doubled the recipe for my large family. They all loved it. I will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenfondren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Warrior, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
This is excellent! I have never had fried green tomatoes before, but had an abundance of them in the garden this year, so looked here for a recipe, and found this. Here are some minor modifications I made the second time, which solved that problem: I sliced the tomatoes and laid them on paper towels on a platter. I salted them lightly. Before frying them, I dried the tops with another paper towel. I reduced the amount of milk mixed with the eggs to about 3 tablespoons. Because we like spicy food, I added a teaspoon of cayenne to the cornmeal mix, and when the tomatoes were served, I topped each slice with a spoonful of red salsa. This recipe is a 5 star as printed; I am just adding my changes if someone is looking for a slightly different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Love the breading! I think 1/2" slices are too thick, though. I cut mine about 1/4 to 3/8 " and they seem to get done as the outside got brown. I do double dip the slices in the milk and breading and that helps it to stick. The tomatoes keep coming this fall so we will make this often. I will try using buttermilk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Yum! Yum! Great way to use up green tomatoes from the family garden. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama and Daughters

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I've never had fried green tomatoes, (though I read a book by that name) but this year my tomatoes did not ripen before the first frost so I picked them all and hunted for recipes. This one was the BEST! juicy tomatoes inside crispy crust...mmmm. Next year, I'll pick the tomatoes green just to use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I have nothing to compare these to as I've never even eaten a fried green tomato before, but we loved them! A co-worker was leaving for vacation and still had many tomatoes on the vine so he picked them and brought them to work in case someone might want them. I brought a few home and found this recipe. They were quick and easy to make. I had a couple packets of "Honey-Baked Ham savory sauce" in the fridge so we used that as a "dip". That really made these delicious! Hubby ate the left-overs the next evening and declared them still tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
These were really good. A keeper recipes. I cut the recipe for two and perhaps my tomatoes were a little large and ran out of the drye batter ingredients. I liked the slight tucker cut than I used previously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Previous attempts to fry green tomatoes did not go as well as I hoped, so I went looking for a recipe. This one fits the bill! Only change I made was to cut the tomatoes in 1/4 inch thick slices. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VELMA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Loves the way my tomatoes came out so I decided to try pork chops using the same recipe! Wow came out delicious. I didn't have cornbread mix so I just omitted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States