Best Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
These were great! I was nervous about them getting burnt, but let them go! The crispier the better! I've read some recipes that call for sugar to cut the acid of the tomatoes, but I thought seasoning to taste with salt and pepper was just fine. I also liked the 3 layer dipping-helps the breading really stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
First time having green tomatoes. Followed the recipe, they came out a bit mushy. I cooked them till the coating was nice and brown. But never ate fried or deep fried tomatoes, not sure if thats how they were suppose to be. I also had a Zucchini, sliced just like the tomatoes. Yum yum, I guess due to the denser meat then that of the tomato, was favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Drake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Never made FGT before today but our market had some beautiful green tomatoes and I'd always been curious so I jumped in today. Recipe was very easy to follow and we gobbled them right up. Husband requested I make these again. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Amazing , I love the kraft fresh takes, adds a bit of cheese into the mix....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I use egg whites (Thank you Susan) (use 2 eggs whites for every 1 egg) and since I didn't have cornmeal I used Jiffy Cornbread mix. I've tried making FGT before and have never been successful but these came out Awesome!!! My family was way impressed and I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Made these last night for my very Southern Husband. He said they were the best he has had! I followed the directions exactly adding salt and pepper to each step! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
First time making fgt's and this recipe was the right choice! Perfectly crispy and flavorful crust, tender on the inside. Awesome! Will make again for sure. Followed technique exactly, but I did slice the tomatoes only 1/4 inch thick and was able to use the stumps by roughing up the skin with my knife so the coating would stick a bit. Used green tomatoes from our garden, Panko crumbs, added a little butter to the oil. My kids loved them, especially dipped in ranch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Best Green Bean Casserole

A shortcut recipe for green bean casserole you'll want to have.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States