Best Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I used only egg whites as suggested, turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
These were super good, the only issue I had was that there wasn't enough of the breadcrumb mixture for all six tomatoes. Also it was slightly too salty for my taste so next time I will cut back to 1 tsp. Other than that they were very crispy, and the thickness of the tomato was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
These were delicious! My 12 year old even ate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flesia Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
These are some of the best fried green tomatoes I have ever had. I sliced the tomatoes a little thinner than the recipe called for (just a preference), and accidentally threw the bread crumbs in with the flour mixture. I ended up dipping the green tomatoes into the flour/breadcrumb mixture, then egg mixture, then flour/breadcrumb mixture again before putting into hot oil. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I look forward to making these every summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I did not fry these and they turned out delicious. I did tweak the recipe though. I used half Reg. Panko and half Ital. bread crumbs, onion powder, garlic powder, salt and pepper. Mixed them together in a pie plate, then I put approx 1 cup of buttermilk in a pie plate next to the bread crumbs. I used med. sized tomatoes, sliced 1/4 in. thick put a few slices in the b.milk and dredged them in the crumbs be sure to coat them good, I pressed down kind of hard to get it to stick. I sprayed butter spray on one side and put that side down on a cookie sheet covered in parchment paper. I used the C. Sheet that has a double layer. I sprayed top side with butter spray (pam) and baked at 22 min. on each side, bake at 400 degrees, yes 400. They came out nice and crispy and oh so delicious, just as good as fried but with no grease! I will make this my go to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Try this recipe using cracker meal instead of the corn meal mixed with bread crumbs. The batter is lighter which allows more of the tomato's flavor to come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
These were great! I was nervous about them getting burnt, but let them go! The crispier the better! I've read some recipes that call for sugar to cut the acid of the tomatoes, but I thought seasoning to taste with salt and pepper was just fine. I also liked the 3 layer dipping-helps the breading really stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
First time having green tomatoes. Followed the recipe, they came out a bit mushy. I cooked them till the coating was nice and brown. But never ate fried or deep fried tomatoes, not sure if thats how they were suppose to be. I also had a Zucchini, sliced just like the tomatoes. Yum yum, I guess due to the denser meat then that of the tomato, was favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Drake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 468) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Best Green Bean Casserole

A shortcut recipe for green bean casserole you'll want to have.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States