Best Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Excellent. To actually double the flavor - after you dredge and before frying....sprinkle Lemon Pepper on both sides. This does actually double the flavor. It is outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
first time making these. Had some green tomatoes from my mother in law's garden. Absolutely sublime. Delicious. Wonderful crunch, sweet flavor inside. Nothing like it. i would suggest slicing them a bit thinner. I added old bay seasoning to the flour and i found the flavor complimenting the tomatoes. Used panko bread crumbs and crushed them up with the corn meal. I saw in one of the reviews a suggestion of self rising flour. I'll look into that someday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I've made these fried green tomatoes 3 times after recently finding this recipe. My family goes nuts for them! This is the best recipe for fried green tomatoes bar none. I made a sauce to go with them out of Herdez salsa, Veganaise and Texas Pete hot sauce. Delicious! The only variance that I made to the recipe is to cut the tomato a quarter inch thick instead of the recommended 1/2 inch and also added extra pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I had to join allrecipes after I made this dish so I could review it because I loved it so much! Don't be skeptical about this one; it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
These were very good. Didn't change a thing in the recipe. I did use 1 green tomato, 1 red that was mostly ripened and 2 yellow tomatoes that were just ripened. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I love them but add a teaspoon of splenda to my egg and milk mixture to tone down the bitterness of some different kinds of tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This was a total hit!!! My mom, whom has had MANY dishes of FGT in her life said these were the best she has ever had. She said they beat the "bang bang shrimp" at BoneFish, a local fancy restaurant, where everyone says that the shrimp is the best appetizer ever. I got lots of "wow, goodness! so good! these are awesome!" They hardly stopped showering me with compliments. This is the first time that I have ever made this dish, and I don't cook often. Easy to do, and very difficult to mess up. Recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
The best I've ever made or had, just be careful not to burn. Used an old black skillet and they were perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
First time I have ever made fried green tomatoes. Everyone loved it! I overheated my oil so the first few were a little extra toasty on the outside and not quite cooked through on the inside. I suggest that if you are a relatively inexperienced 'fryer', as I am, that you devise a way to test your oil temperature before putting all your tomatoes to fry (either by testing one or actually using a kitchen thermometer). Since the tomato slice is quite thick, you may need to leave it frying a little bit longer to make sure it cooks all the way through. Once I got the temperature just right, they were crunchy on the outside and tender juicy on the inside: fantastic! I made these right after watching the movie "Fried Green Tomatoes." They go together perfectly! The thick slices are so much more satisfying than thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by erinl
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Followed exactly as written except used seasoned breadcrumbs, since that's what I had on hand. Scrumptious! Fried them in canola oil and topped with a bit if Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States