Best Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
used soy milk and panko crumbs. might try a little garlic powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I didn't have cornmeal, so I used wheat germ and it was still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Never had fried green tomatoes before, perhaps I'm just not a fan of them in general, but this really didn't taste good at all. They did look beautiful, and the batter worked perfectly, crunchy and it stuck to the tomatoes well, but ultimately the cornmeal was too hard and gritty, and even after frying them, green tomatoes are simply sour. Fried+sour is not a combination that appeals to me whatsoever. So three stars for the recipe coming out as it should (I think), but I really didn't like this at all and my husband and I threw away most of what we made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Someone

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This was my first time eating fried green tomatoes and they were really tasty! The batter has lots of crunch and would probably be great for any number of other foods as well. My only substitution was whole wheat flour instead of all purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I loved these! I've made these before with a different recipe (cornmeal) and I hated them! But I was determined the batter was to blame. So I'm glad I searched until I found this one. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Great recipe. I've always had trouble getting the flour to stick through the frying process. Dipping in flour first, then egg, then cornmeal was a great idea. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Easy to make and yummy dipped in some ketchup hit with a few splashes of franks red hot. It was a fun way to use up some end of season green tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
These are good. Maybe not spectacular, but quite good. I'll make them again. And they are easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Excellent recipe. The coating stayed on, and they were just fabulous. I am experiencing mild depression now that winter is coming and green tomatoes are almost a thing of the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYCALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Mmmmmmm yummy! Made these again today; skipped the corn meal and used panko bread crumbs so I still got the crunch I was looking for!.. Awesome!.. If you are skeptical and think these sound weird but like other fried veggies like zucchini or tempura you will most likely love these!.. :) I find the green tomatoes that are fully grown but still green are the juciest and best flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 437) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States