Best Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This recipe is fantastic! Per another review, I omitted one of the egg yolks. Also, I fried the tomatoes for a good 20 minutes. The result is a perfectly soft interior with a crispy exterior. Delicious. Even my 2 year old devoured her portion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
AMAZING. When the cajun restaurant down the street shut down, I nearly cried because I loved their fried green tomatoes. These are even better! I cut the salt back to about a teaspoon, and sliced the tomatoes about 1/4", but kept everything else the same. My husband was over the moon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I made these with tomatillos fresh from the garden. It tasted great! I liked the crispy breading. Great recipe, I can't wait to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
used soy milk and panko crumbs. might try a little garlic powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I didn't have cornmeal, so I used wheat germ and it was still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Never had fried green tomatoes before, perhaps I'm just not a fan of them in general, but this really didn't taste good at all. They did look beautiful, and the batter worked perfectly, crunchy and it stuck to the tomatoes well, but ultimately the cornmeal was too hard and gritty, and even after frying them, green tomatoes are simply sour. Fried+sour is not a combination that appeals to me whatsoever. So three stars for the recipe coming out as it should (I think), but I really didn't like this at all and my husband and I threw away most of what we made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Someone

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This was my first time eating fried green tomatoes and they were really tasty! The batter has lots of crunch and would probably be great for any number of other foods as well. My only substitution was whole wheat flour instead of all purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I loved these! I've made these before with a different recipe (cornmeal) and I hated them! But I was determined the batter was to blame. So I'm glad I searched until I found this one. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Great recipe. I've always had trouble getting the flour to stick through the frying process. Dipping in flour first, then egg, then cornmeal was a great idea. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Easy to make and yummy dipped in some ketchup hit with a few splashes of franks red hot. It was a fun way to use up some end of season green tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 430) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States