Best Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I have never made fried green tomatoes before, but I have certainly eaten my share. These turned out PERFECT!!! They were super simple and fantastic. My aunt doesn't like them usually. I had to keep her from eating the whole plate. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Fantastic! Didn't change a thing. Will be making these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Great batter! I subbed wheat germ for the breadcrumbs since I don't keep them around. Instead of frying, I "oven-fried" (baked) mine at 425 F. Not quite the same as frying, but they still turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This recipe is a keeper! I made it as is except for a few changes - I fried them in peanut oil, and only needed a little oil for pan frying. I also added some seasonings to the corn meal/bread crumb mixture: Lawry's seasoned salt, a dash of onion powder, freshly ground black pepper, and paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I just made this - with one each large green and large, firm red tomatoes. I didn't have corn meal, so I substituted a seafood batter mix based on corn meal. My wife and I LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
These were the best we've ever had!!! I make a dip to go along with them that includes thousand island dressing, sour cream and Frank's hot sauce. Thanx for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Good recipe. I actually put these on a grill chicken breast sandwich with avocado and ranch. It was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Great. They come out crunchy and moist in the inside without being wet. I used panco bread crumbs. They r the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This was a hit at our house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okarche, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Quitman, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Very good! I dipped mine in buttermilk instead of milk. It's richer and helps the dredge stick so nicely! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 437) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States