Best Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
This makes the perfect breading! It stays together and browns beautifully with a delicious crunchy texture. I used panko for the breadcrumbs, and we sliced green tomatoes and eggplant. Both fried perfectly in canola oil. This is now our breading for fried treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese Cooks in St. Pete

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I used Italian bread crumbs - delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
First time trying fried green tomatoes and they were very good. Could have used a little more spice for my liking so I will experiment next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
this recipe is awesome - except since I did not have flour AND cornmeal I used a cornbread mix, dipped in egg wash, then flour/cornmeal cornbread mix (with added salt and pepper) and, since I had no breadcrumbs - i used crushed triscuits (i'm sure any flavor would work but I had roasted garlic) - so egg wash to cornbread mix to egg wash to crushed triscuits - so wonderful I mixed leftover coatings for "hushpuppies" - in retrospect some chopped onion in the leftover coatings would have perfected them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
These were incredible! They were a little hard but that may have just been because I sliced the tomato to thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blackwidow Danger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This is the second time I made these and I think they came out better with the deletion of the milk. I used two egg whites because I didn't have any milk. Using the whites with out the yolks makes the corn meal/panko crispier. I just added pepper to the panko mixture without adding salt. I cut the slices about 1/4" thick. We both agreed we like my homemade remoulade better than the Boar's Head I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Best I've ever eaten. Husband and neighbors thought they were best also, very easy. Fried them in olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This is the best tasting fried green tomatoes I have done and ate.. Even my picky husband tasted it and never stop eating them Incredible!!! I follow the recipe but I did used a small box of corn muffin mix instead of the corn meal and less thicker tomatoes slices since my husband did not want them mushy. fried them to a dark golden brown came out tasty and somewhat a crunch to the first bite but delicious instead of mushy... LOve it already made them twice!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I did not change a thing to this recipe. My kids have never had fried green tomatoes before. I made a batch, and they were hooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. Kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
As I read this recipe I thought how ggod the batter would be for fried onion rings. As someone suggested, I used egg whites only. I eliminated the bread crumbs. I cut the onions 1/2 inch thick, soaked them in ice water for 20 minutes, drained them in a colander and towel-dried them before frying. They come out very crispy and delicious. You could add other seasonings to the cornmeal such as garlic powder and some cayenne. I hope you enjoy these as much as my family does. Have a blessed day .... Betty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 466) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States