Best Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Erin Lange
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Followed exactly as written except used seasoned breadcrumbs, since that's what I had on hand. Scrumptious! Fried them in canola oil and topped with a bit if Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Lange

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Very good, but very salty. Will definitely try again with a quarter of the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allanah Weatherby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
family loved it. Came out good and I didn't have bread crumbs to mix with cornmeal got gone before I could take a photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tomsmith Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Don't discard the ends! I chop them up with a little onion and a touch of garlic and dash of lemon juice if you like it, and either do a quick sizzle or a minute or two in the microwave and it makes a great fresh salsa for sprinkling on top. feeling decadent - toss in a taste of EVOO or butter ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryalice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trappe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I just used eggwash,no flour, and substituted panko bread crumbs,and added some other sesonings, and they turned out AMAZING!!! . Served with a mix of sour cream and ranch dressing on the side to dip in and they were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This is a good general base recipe, but if you're like me, you'll want to experiment with it and make it a little less bland. Also, you can cut the flour in half and still have plenty, and add a little more cornmeal. I also used buttermilk instead of regular milk. After all, what's a southern recipe without buttermilk? I used some Creole seasoning as well. I also fry mine in bacon grease, instead of just oil. Everybody has a different taste, and this recipe will be good if it is left well alone, but GREAT if changed up just a bit. Fried green tomatoes are pretty forgiving, so don't be afraid to experiment!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
THE BEST fried green tomatoes are what this recipes provides! I am a southerner now living in Colorado and really appreciate a great fried green tomato (or two or three or...) now and then. These are the best I've ever had... even when considering some really great southern restaurants I've been to. I followed this recipe to the letter and wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Have never made FGT before and this recipe was so great. I actually did not even following the instructions and put all the dry items together. I did use garlic breadcrumbs though. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amy bacon
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
awesome! so easy and so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 467) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States