Best Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
These were delightful! I didn't add any milk to my eggs - just whisked them without it. I sliced my tomatoes rather thin, as that's how we really like it. Added some garlic and onion powder to the cornmeal and bread crumbs and we enjoyed them as part of a summer veggie supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I LOVED THIS RECIPE. but i changed a couple of things because, being from Mississippi, even though we LOVE to eat, one WHOLE green tomatoe per person was a bit much. I used 1/4 cup italian breadcrumbs, 1/4 cup of cornmeal, 2 pinches of coarse ground salt, 1/4 tsp fresh ground pepper, and 1/2 c APF, 1 egg, 1/4 milk and 2 lg, not extra large, but large green tomatoes cut 1/4 inch--everybody knows a half inch is too thick! Y'all, these were better than my grandmothers! mmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Excellent. Used on green tomatoes, yellow squash, cucumbers, and mushrooms with great success. Keep the basic process/ingredients but feel free to change up the seasonings - use Cajun, or Old Bay, or Italian, or whatever you like. Nice crunchy breading but not too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Solon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
FANTASTIC!! I had leftover batter and crumbs, so I sliced up some onions and made onion rings. I'll be using this recipe to fry up everything known to man! :D Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
this was great of course i'm the only one who likes them but it was worth the effort!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeport, New York, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I have never had fried green tomatoes before...but I went ahead and tried this recipe and my dad said these were the best he has had in a long time..thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This is the first time I have ever made these and they came out so good. They had a nice crunch and the coating stayed on well for the most part. I made a few changes though. I didn't have corn meal but i did have a box of Jiffy corn bread mix and I just mixed some of that in instead. I also had almond milk instead of regular milk. I accidentally mixed the corn meal mix with the flour instead of the bread crumbs. I also added some garlic powder to the mix. Despite my changes, these were so tasty! Kind of sour and crunchy and juicy at the same time. I will be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soni's Delights

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I thought this was a great recipe. If you like your fried food really crispy, they you'll like this recipe! I took other reviewers advice and upped the flavor--I used italian flavored breadcrumbs, and then after mixing that with the cornmeal, I added the salt and petter as directed, but also added garlic powder and onion powder. I also couldn't find green tomatoes so I just found the least-ripe red tomatoes I could, and it was still a hit. It was also so easy/fast to make. After you slice the tomatoes and set up your three dishes (flour, egg mixture, bread crumb mixture) it goes so quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This was great. I added granulated garlic & onion to the flour along with a pinch of cayenne. I only used egg whites and used heavy cream instead of milk to help the corm meal stick. I used 3/4 cup of corn meal and 1/4 cup of panko. The suggested sauce by another review was great. 1 cup mayo, 1 T dijon, 2t red wine vinegar, 2 T horseradish (I added cilantro & red onion too). After the tomato is cooled slightly I top it with lump crab meat, drizzle the sauce over it sprinkled with diced sweet red pepper. YUM! I will be serving these at my restaurant as next week appetizer special. Thanks Diana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tower Lakes, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
This makes the perfect breading! It stays together and browns beautifully with a delicious crunchy texture. I used panko for the breadcrumbs, and we sliced green tomatoes and eggplant. Both fried perfectly in canola oil. This is now our breading for fried treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese Cooks in St. Pete

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 425) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States