Best Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Love the breading! I think 1/2" slices are too thick, though. I cut mine about 1/4 to 3/8 " and they seem to get done as the outside got brown. I do double dip the slices in the milk and breading and that helps it to stick. The tomatoes keep coming this fall so we will make this often. I will try using buttermilk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Yum! Yum! Great way to use up green tomatoes from the family garden. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama and Daughters

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I've never had fried green tomatoes, (though I read a book by that name) but this year my tomatoes did not ripen before the first frost so I picked them all and hunted for recipes. This one was the BEST! juicy tomatoes inside crispy crust...mmmm. Next year, I'll pick the tomatoes green just to use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I have nothing to compare these to as I've never even eaten a fried green tomato before, but we loved them! A co-worker was leaving for vacation and still had many tomatoes on the vine so he picked them and brought them to work in case someone might want them. I brought a few home and found this recipe. They were quick and easy to make. I had a couple packets of "Honey-Baked Ham savory sauce" in the fridge so we used that as a "dip". That really made these delicious! Hubby ate the left-overs the next evening and declared them still tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
These were really good. A keeper recipes. I cut the recipe for two and perhaps my tomatoes were a little large and ran out of the drye batter ingredients. I liked the slight tucker cut than I used previously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Previous attempts to fry green tomatoes did not go as well as I hoped, so I went looking for a recipe. This one fits the bill! Only change I made was to cut the tomatoes in 1/4 inch thick slices. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VELMA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Loves the way my tomatoes came out so I decided to try pork chops using the same recipe! Wow came out delicious. I didn't have cornbread mix so I just omitted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Very tasty recipe but I modified from the start based on many of the reviews. I subbed buttermilk for milk; Panko for breadcrumbs; peanut oil for vegetable oil and used it sparingly; added some garlic and herbs to the breadcrumb batter for a bit for kick but other than that followed the recipe but I did find it took more crumbs because I had more tomatoes although I had plenty of egg and milk. I cut the tomatoes roughly about a 1/4". I did a few at 1/2" and they were fine also but they did take a bit longer to cook. I ran out of the bread crumb recipe early on and had way too much egg left over- that was fine because I made more tomatoes than the recipe called for so I ended up using all the egg by doubling the bread crumb mixture and adding an additional 1/4 cup flour. I subbed Panko for bread crumbs because in my experience breadcrumbs tend to be more soggy and absorb oil and I wanted these fried tomatoes to be as crispy as possible. I don't use bread crumbs for frying anything. Several comments mentioned the batter being bland so I added some powdered garlic and Italian herbs. Not much to this, just dunk in flour, egg mixture, bread crumbs and fry. Yummy! They were great served with homemade chili! I really enjoyed making these. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Awesome just as the recipe reads. Make the Southern Pemento Cheese to go with them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by npbm
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I cooked this recipe on yesterday and everyone loved them . Thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by npbm

Displaying results 11-20 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States