Best Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
The flavor was good but the cornmeal/breadcrumbs fell off the tomatoes. Next time, I will pan fry them the same way I do eggplant. Flour, egg and breadcrumbs only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This was a hit in our house hold. I also used red tomatoes and my family liked them even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wenonah, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
These were PERFECT! Made exactly to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
The recipe was good. I will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith Lentz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
The very best fried tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
best fried green tomatoes, Ive made. I will use this recipe on other things, such as fish. lorlee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Made the first four to recipes exact directions except I did not add the milk (none in the house at the time) and they were a little bland for my family but were crisp and the breading stayed on. The texture was perfect. Added some garlic powder, onion powder and some cayenne pepper to the breading mix and the rest were excellent! Looking forward to the next batch! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiBach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Hard to get the mix to stick to the tomatoes, but even with the crumbling, fried outer shell, it still tasted terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I had never tried these before and they are really good. I did however add a little parm cheese to the cornmeal mixture. I also followed another posts recipe for a dipping sauce of sour cream ranch dressing and hot sauce. I would make these again but I think I would like to try a sweeter dipping sauce like a mango chutney or something like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefLes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
My first time making this recipe, I followed it to the letter and the tomatoes were quite good. The second time, I made the following additions/changes and the results were excellent: I used panko bread crumbs; seasoned all breading components (flour, egg mixture and coating) with salt, pepper and a pinch of seasoning blend (I used my own, similar to Emeril's "BAM"); and I shallow-fried in 1 1/2 cups of vegetable oil instead of deep frying. I served the crispy tomatoes with a spicy buttermilk ranch dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 465) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States