Best Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This is the first time I have ever made these and they came out so good. They had a nice crunch and the coating stayed on well for the most part. I made a few changes though. I didn't have corn meal but i did have a box of Jiffy corn bread mix and I just mixed some of that in instead. I also had almond milk instead of regular milk. I accidentally mixed the corn meal mix with the flour instead of the bread crumbs. I also added some garlic powder to the mix. Despite my changes, these were so tasty! Kind of sour and crunchy and juicy at the same time. I will be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soni's Delights

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I thought this was a great recipe. If you like your fried food really crispy, they you'll like this recipe! I took other reviewers advice and upped the flavor--I used italian flavored breadcrumbs, and then after mixing that with the cornmeal, I added the salt and petter as directed, but also added garlic powder and onion powder. I also couldn't find green tomatoes so I just found the least-ripe red tomatoes I could, and it was still a hit. It was also so easy/fast to make. After you slice the tomatoes and set up your three dishes (flour, egg mixture, bread crumb mixture) it goes so quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This was great. I added granulated garlic & onion to the flour along with a pinch of cayenne. I only used egg whites and used heavy cream instead of milk to help the corm meal stick. I used 3/4 cup of corn meal and 1/4 cup of panko. The suggested sauce by another review was great. 1 cup mayo, 1 T dijon, 2t red wine vinegar, 2 T horseradish (I added cilantro & red onion too). After the tomato is cooled slightly I top it with lump crab meat, drizzle the sauce over it sprinkled with diced sweet red pepper. YUM! I will be serving these at my restaurant as next week appetizer special. Thanks Diana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tower Lakes, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
This makes the perfect breading! It stays together and browns beautifully with a delicious crunchy texture. I used panko for the breadcrumbs, and we sliced green tomatoes and eggplant. Both fried perfectly in canola oil. This is now our breading for fried treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese Cooks in St. Pete

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I used Italian bread crumbs - delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
First time trying fried green tomatoes and they were very good. Could have used a little more spice for my liking so I will experiment next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
this recipe is awesome - except since I did not have flour AND cornmeal I used a cornbread mix, dipped in egg wash, then flour/cornmeal cornbread mix (with added salt and pepper) and, since I had no breadcrumbs - i used crushed triscuits (i'm sure any flavor would work but I had roasted garlic) - so egg wash to cornbread mix to egg wash to crushed triscuits - so wonderful I mixed leftover coatings for "hushpuppies" - in retrospect some chopped onion in the leftover coatings would have perfected them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
These were incredible! They were a little hard but that may have just been because I sliced the tomato to thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grljrfan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This is the second time I made these and I think they came out better with the deletion of the milk. I used two egg whites because I didn't have any milk. Using the whites with out the yolks makes the corn meal/panko crispier. I just added pepper to the panko mixture without adding salt. I cut the slices about 1/4" thick. We both agreed we like my homemade remoulade better than the Boar's Head I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Best I've ever eaten. Husband and neighbors thought they were best also, very easy. Fried them in olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States