Best Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
As I read this recipe I thought how ggod the batter would be for fried onion rings. As someone suggested, I used egg whites only. I eliminated the bread crumbs. I cut the onions 1/2 inch thick, soaked them in ice water for 20 minutes, drained them in a colander and towel-dried them before frying. They come out very crispy and delicious. You could add other seasonings to the cornmeal such as garlic powder and some cayenne. I hope you enjoy these as much as my family does. Have a blessed day .... Betty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Delicious! Serve with homemade or Trader Joe's Hot & Sweet Pepper Jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
The flavor was good but the cornmeal/breadcrumbs fell off the tomatoes. Next time, I will pan fry them the same way I do eggplant. Flour, egg and breadcrumbs only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This was a hit in our house hold. I also used red tomatoes and my family liked them even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wenonah, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
These were PERFECT! Made exactly to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
The recipe was good. I will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
The very best fried tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
best fried green tomatoes, Ive made. I will use this recipe on other things, such as fish. lorlee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Made the first four to recipes exact directions except I did not add the milk (none in the house at the time) and they were a little bland for my family but were crisp and the breading stayed on. The texture was perfect. Added some garlic powder, onion powder and some cayenne pepper to the breading mix and the rest were excellent! Looking forward to the next batch! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiBach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Hard to get the mix to stick to the tomatoes, but even with the crumbling, fried outer shell, it still tasted terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 437) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States