Best Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Previous attempts to fry green tomatoes did not go as well as I hoped, so I went looking for a recipe. This one fits the bill! Only change I made was to cut the tomatoes in 1/4 inch thick slices. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VELMA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Loves the way my tomatoes came out so I decided to try pork chops using the same recipe! Wow came out delicious. I didn't have cornbread mix so I just omitted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Very tasty recipe but I modified from the start based on many of the reviews. I subbed buttermilk for milk; Panko for breadcrumbs; peanut oil for vegetable oil and used it sparingly; added some garlic and herbs to the breadcrumb batter for a bit for kick but other than that followed the recipe but I did find it took more crumbs because I had more tomatoes although I had plenty of egg and milk. I cut the tomatoes roughly about a 1/4". I did a few at 1/2" and they were fine also but they did take a bit longer to cook. I ran out of the bread crumb recipe early on and had way too much egg left over- that was fine because I made more tomatoes than the recipe called for so I ended up using all the egg by doubling the bread crumb mixture and adding an additional 1/4 cup flour. I subbed Panko for bread crumbs because in my experience breadcrumbs tend to be more soggy and absorb oil and I wanted these fried tomatoes to be as crispy as possible. I don't use bread crumbs for frying anything. Several comments mentioned the batter being bland so I added some powdered garlic and Italian herbs. Not much to this, just dunk in flour, egg mixture, bread crumbs and fry. Yummy! They were great served with homemade chili! I really enjoyed making these. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Awesome just as the recipe reads. Make the Southern Pemento Cheese to go with them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelli stein

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by npbm
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I cooked this recipe on yesterday and everyone loved them . Thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by npbm
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Excellent. To actually double the flavor - after you dredge and before frying....sprinkle Lemon Pepper on both sides. This does actually double the flavor. It is outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
first time making these. Had some green tomatoes from my mother in law's garden. Absolutely sublime. Delicious. Wonderful crunch, sweet flavor inside. Nothing like it. i would suggest slicing them a bit thinner. I added old bay seasoning to the flour and i found the flavor complimenting the tomatoes. Used panko bread crumbs and crushed them up with the corn meal. I saw in one of the reviews a suggestion of self rising flour. I'll look into that someday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I've made these fried green tomatoes 3 times after recently finding this recipe. My family goes nuts for them! This is the best recipe for fried green tomatoes bar none. I made a sauce to go with them out of Herdez salsa, Veganaise and Texas Pete hot sauce. Delicious! The only variance that I made to the recipe is to cut the tomato a quarter inch thick instead of the recommended 1/2 inch and also added extra pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I had to join allrecipes after I made this dish so I could review it because I loved it so much! Don't be skeptical about this one; it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
These were very good. Didn't change a thing in the recipe. I did use 1 green tomato, 1 red that was mostly ripened and 2 yellow tomatoes that were just ripened. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 461) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States