Best Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I did not fry these and they turned out delicious. I did tweak the recipe though. I used half Reg. Panko and half Ital. bread crumbs, onion powder, garlic powder, salt and pepper. Mixed them together in a pie plate, then I put approx 1 cup of buttermilk in a pie plate next to the bread crumbs. I used med. sized tomatoes, sliced 1/4 in. thick put a few slices in the b.milk and dredged them in the crumbs be sure to coat them good, I pressed down kind of hard to get it to stick. I sprayed butter spray on one side and put that side down on a cookie sheet covered in parchment paper. I used the C. Sheet that has a double layer. I sprayed top side with butter spray (pam) and baked at 22 min. on each side, bake at 400 degrees, yes 400. They came out nice and crispy and oh so delicious, just as good as fried but with no grease! I will make this my go to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Try this recipe using cracker meal instead of the corn meal mixed with bread crumbs. The batter is lighter which allows more of the tomato's flavor to come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
These were great! I was nervous about them getting burnt, but let them go! The crispier the better! I've read some recipes that call for sugar to cut the acid of the tomatoes, but I thought seasoning to taste with salt and pepper was just fine. I also liked the 3 layer dipping-helps the breading really stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
First time having green tomatoes. Followed the recipe, they came out a bit mushy. I cooked them till the coating was nice and brown. But never ate fried or deep fried tomatoes, not sure if thats how they were suppose to be. I also had a Zucchini, sliced just like the tomatoes. Yum yum, I guess due to the denser meat then that of the tomato, was favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Drake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Never made FGT before today but our market had some beautiful green tomatoes and I'd always been curious so I jumped in today. Recipe was very easy to follow and we gobbled them right up. Husband requested I make these again. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Amazing , I love the kraft fresh takes, adds a bit of cheese into the mix....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I use egg whites (Thank you Susan) (use 2 eggs whites for every 1 egg) and since I didn't have cornmeal I used Jiffy Cornbread mix. I've tried making FGT before and have never been successful but these came out Awesome!!! My family was way impressed and I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 462) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States