Best Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Made these but I used buttermilk. Came out delicious. The wife loved them. Will definitely be making these more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is the best recipe for fried green tomatoes I've ever tried. No more searching through sites and books for me! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
These are amazingly tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littleostrich

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview Park, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I don't think there was anything wrong with the recipe. I just don't think I am a huge fan of fried green tomatoes. Won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Excellent recipe! Next time I will double the pepper (used coarse pepper) and slice the tomatoes 1/4 inch instead of 1/2 inch. I used bags for the flour and cornmeal mixture. I found floating the slices in the egg mixture and then gently turning them over works better than trying to dunk them. If you like yours more crispy try first sprinkling them with salt and wrapping them up in a paper towel for 15 minutes... it leaches off a lot of moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This recipe is fantastic! Per another review, I omitted one of the egg yolks. Also, I fried the tomatoes for a good 20 minutes. The result is a perfectly soft interior with a crispy exterior. Delicious. Even my 2 year old devoured her portion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
AMAZING. When the cajun restaurant down the street shut down, I nearly cried because I loved their fried green tomatoes. These are even better! I cut the salt back to about a teaspoon, and sliced the tomatoes about 1/4", but kept everything else the same. My husband was over the moon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I made these with tomatillos fresh from the garden. It tasted great! I liked the crispy breading. Great recipe, I can't wait to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
used soy milk and panko crumbs. might try a little garlic powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States