Best Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Awesome, thanks for sharing. Easy peasy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Delicious! followed the recipe as written and loved it! I usually make Fried Green Tomatoes at the end of summer when my plants are over run with tomatoes, but will begin earlier next year just for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cfeehan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigantine, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Yum! I added some mustard to the egg mixture and some garlic powder to the cornmeal mixture to amp up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Thanks to all of your comments I took some learning from each of you. I went with 1/4 inch thick slices, (will go a tad thinner next time). Sliced, salted & let rest an hour before serving. Used equal parts corn meal, flour, seasoned bread crumbs, and some salt & pepper. I used seasoned flour, egg white & milk, then the corn meal, flour, bread crumb blend. 3 minutes a side was perfect, and they turned out great and the coating held perfectly. The only thing that was missing was some flavor. The tomatoes were sweet (I was concerned about bitterness) but still a little bland, so I made a sauce of horseradish & mayonnaise, and that hit the spot. This was a good base recipe, thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCHEISS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mayfield Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wickliffe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
These were fabulous! The 10- 12 people at the family dinner I made them for loved them and they were gone in 15 minutes! This includes the 24month old birthday girl and a 6year old !! I follow many of the tips other reviewers offered: S&P added to the flour, whipped egg whites,some cayenne and seasoned salt to the cornmeal/panko coating. I also salted the sliced tomatoes and let them sit for about 30 minutes. I fried two large tomatoes and 4-5 small tomatoes; we all liked the small chip like tomatoes best! I also made the suggested dip with thousand island dressing. The tip for testing the temp of the oil with the wooden spoon, worked great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecilia
Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
These are the best! I have been making them almost every day as everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I have been looking for a great recipe for fried green tomatoes this is it. I used Italian seasoned bread crumbs instead of plain...wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rmathew1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Very good this way. We usually like them just dredged in flour and fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wizardofohms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Excellent,ran out of corn meal,and bread crumbs so shake and bake worked just as great,added blk pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Made this just as written, but halved the ingredients for just the two of us. Delicious, but we wanted a sauce to dip them in. Ranch dressing did the trick for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Taber Tombrella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 430) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States